Hanninen wins Yalta Rally

Skoda's Juho Hanninen clinched his second Intercontinental Rally Challenge victory of the year on the Yalta Rally in Ukraine after a close battle with Bryan Bouffier

Hanninen wins Yalta Rally

A jump-start penalty on the second of Thursday's pair of very short opening stages had left Hanninen back in 11th starting the first full-length leg on Friday, but he swiftly fell through to second before taking the lead from PH Peugeot's Bryan Bouffier.

The gap between them then ebbed and flowed - with Hanninen pulling away on Friday afternoon, getting caught again this morning, and then re-establishing a lead on the final loop. Despite Bouffier being quickest on the concluding Uchan-Su stage, Hanninen was able to win by 11.7s.

Jan Kopecky completed the podium in the second Skoda, winning his battle with Skoda UK's Andreas Mikkelsen thanks to two stage wins this afternoon and Mikkelsen having a quick trip off the road on SS12.

Mikkelsen was one of many drivers who sustained costly punctures on Friday, when a lot of debris was being drawn onto the stages as the field passed through. Fifth-placed Guy Wilks (Peugeot UK) and seventh-placed Toni Gardemeister (TGS Skoda) were among the other puncture victims.

Early leader Thierry Neuville was another man to sustain a puncture - but the Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg driver's main issue was a high-speed spin on Friday morning that briefly left his car beached, costing him three minutes. Until then, he had looked a good bet for victory as he held Bouffier at bay. Neuville recovered to sixth, despite the later puncture.

S2000 debutant Karl Kruuda had a wide variety of adventures in his ME3 Skoda before taking eighth. Punctures and mechanical problems stymied Proton's challenge, but Giandomenico Basso did get the Satria as high as fifth.

Leading finishers: Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap 1. Juho Hanninen Skoda 2h54m14.0s 2. Bryan Bouffier PH Peugeot + 11.7s 3. Jan Kopecky Skoda + 38.7s 4. Andreas Mikkelsen Skoda UK + 57.3s 5. Guy Wilks Peugeot UK (Kronos) + 4m00.4s 6. Thierry Neuville Peugeot Belux (Kronos) + 5m01.5s 7. Toni Gardemeister TGS Skoda + 7m59.3s 8. Karl Kruuda ME3 Skoda + 10m01.3s 9. Patrik Sandell Skoda Sweden + 18m08.9s 10. Jean-Michel Raoux 100% Renault + 21m42.9s 
Hanninen leads as Bouffier closes
Previous article

Hanninen leads as Bouffier closes

Next article

Rally Scotland revises ticket policy

Rally Scotland revises ticket policy
Load comments
Ireland deserves a WRC round Plus

Ireland deserves a WRC round

Drivers are in accordance: Ireland should be in the World Rally Championship. DAVID EVANS followed the Circuit of Ireland and was left with no doubt that the drivers are right

Apr 23, 2014
Kubica's rally to recovery Plus

Kubica's rally to recovery

Robert Kubica's rally speed is obviously there - in abundance - but he's got to stop crashing. Charles Bradley went to the Azores to get the lowdown on the ex-F1 star's comeback trail

May 3, 2013
Why Kubica can win on ERC debut Plus

Why Kubica can win on ERC debut

Former GP winner Robert Kubica makes his international comeback this week in the Canaries Rally. And David Evans reckons he'll win aboard a Citroen DS3 RRC

Mar 21, 2013
Rallying's new era keeps the best of the old Plus

Rallying's new era keeps the best of the old

As the IRC to ERC transformation takes effect in Austria, David Evans is excited that the IRC's promotional strengths will carry over - but still wishes the WRC could get some of that magic

Jan 3, 2013
Farewell IRC, long live ERC Plus

Farewell IRC, long live ERC

As the Intercontinental Rally Challenge prepares for its swansong in Cyprus, David Evans recalls the shortlived series' heyday - and looks ahead to its European successor

Nov 1, 2012
The 2011 IRC season review Plus

The 2011 IRC season review

The fifth Intercontinental Rally Challenge was the best yet, and it was Skoda UK driver Andreas Mikkelsen who emerged as champion from a tense five-way shootout at the season finale. Matt Beer reviews the season

Nov 22, 2011
Who to watch in the Monte Carlo Rally Plus

Who to watch in the Monte Carlo Rally

This year is the Monte Carlo Rally's centenary and, just as in recent years, there's no shortage of World Rally Championship stars turning up to give the IRC regulars a run for their money

Jan 18, 2011
The top 10 IRC drivers of 2010 Plus

The top 10 IRC drivers of 2010

The competition didn't run as deep as it might have, but there was plenty of fight at the front with six of our top 10 winning rallies during the season. Matt Beer puts them in order

Nov 29, 2010