Al-Attiyah holds off Prokop in Cyprus

Nasser Al-Attiyah continues to lead the Cyprus Rally, and is fending off a strong challenge from the recovering Martin Prokop

Al-Attiyah holds off Prokop in Cyprus

Czech Ford driver Prokop suffered a broken driveshaft last night which both cost him time on yesterday's superspecial and led to a 20-second penalty for being late out of service this morning.

He then mounted a charge, winning SS2 and SS3 to get within 11s of Al-Attiyah (Barwa Ford), but Prokop's soft tyres faded on the 17 kilometres of Agioi Vavatsinias, leaving him 19.2s behind Al-Attiyah as they head for service.

Andreas Mikkelsen, one of the pre-rally favourites after his strong second place in Scotland, did not even make it to the first full-length stage, as his Hankook Ford stopped with an engine failure on the road section before SS2.

The Peugeot challenge has also faltered. Bryan Bouffier had to stop for nearly 25 minutes on the Kalavasos stage to change damaged suspension, but despite still feeling the steering was not right, he was second-quickest behind Prokop on SS3 and SS4.

Bouffier's ROMO team-mate Franz Wittmann had to take a 1m50s penalty for being late out of service, and then dropped a little more time when he damaged his suspension on Lythrodontas.

Fellow Peugeot driver Nicos Thomas briefly got up to fifth, but the local favourite lost nearly two and a half minutes with brake and gear problems on SS5.

That leaves Roger Feghali in third, despite the Lebanese driver running with slightly bent suspension after a brush with a barrier on the superspecial. Feghali does not have a spare of the damaged part, but was pleasantly surprised by the pace he was able to maintain even with the problem.

Prokop's team-mate Jaromir Tarabus is fourth, ahead of Roman Kresta in the leading Group N car.

Pos Driver Car Time/Gap 1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford 46m53.4s 2. Martin Prokop Ford + 19.2s 3. Roger Feghali Skoda + 29.5s 4. Jaromir Tarabus Ford + 1m22.3s 5. Roman Kresta Mitsubishi + 2m04.7s 6. Franz Wittmann Peugeot + 2m58.3s 7. Constantinos Tingirides Mitsubishi + 3m08.0s 8. Savvas Savva Mitsubishi + 3m16.3s 9. Nicos Thomas Peugeot + 3m26.6s 10. Daniel Oliveira Peugeot + 3m29.3s 
Al-Attiyah tops Cyprus superspecial
Previous article

Al-Attiyah tops Cyprus superspecial

Next article

Prokop takes Cyprus Rally lead

Prokop takes Cyprus Rally lead
Load comments
Ireland deserves a WRC round Plus

Ireland deserves a WRC round

Drivers are in accordance: Ireland should be in the World Rally Championship. DAVID EVANS followed the Circuit of Ireland and was left with no doubt that the drivers are right

Apr 23, 2014
Kubica's rally to recovery Plus

Kubica's rally to recovery

Robert Kubica's rally speed is obviously there - in abundance - but he's got to stop crashing. Charles Bradley went to the Azores to get the lowdown on the ex-F1 star's comeback trail

May 3, 2013
Why Kubica can win on ERC debut Plus

Why Kubica can win on ERC debut

Former GP winner Robert Kubica makes his international comeback this week in the Canaries Rally. And David Evans reckons he'll win aboard a Citroen DS3 RRC

Mar 21, 2013
Rallying's new era keeps the best of the old Plus

Rallying's new era keeps the best of the old

As the IRC to ERC transformation takes effect in Austria, David Evans is excited that the IRC's promotional strengths will carry over - but still wishes the WRC could get some of that magic

Jan 3, 2013
Farewell IRC, long live ERC Plus

Farewell IRC, long live ERC

As the Intercontinental Rally Challenge prepares for its swansong in Cyprus, David Evans recalls the shortlived series' heyday - and looks ahead to its European successor

Nov 1, 2012
The 2011 IRC season review Plus

The 2011 IRC season review

The fifth Intercontinental Rally Challenge was the best yet, and it was Skoda UK driver Andreas Mikkelsen who emerged as champion from a tense five-way shootout at the season finale. Matt Beer reviews the season

Nov 22, 2011
Who to watch in the Monte Carlo Rally Plus

Who to watch in the Monte Carlo Rally

This year is the Monte Carlo Rally's centenary and, just as in recent years, there's no shortage of World Rally Championship stars turning up to give the IRC regulars a run for their money

Jan 18, 2011
The top 10 IRC drivers of 2010 Plus

The top 10 IRC drivers of 2010

The competition didn't run as deep as it might have, but there was plenty of fight at the front with six of our top 10 winning rallies during the season. Matt Beer puts them in order

Nov 29, 2010