Find out more about our subscriptions

Sergio Campana leads Marrakech Auto GP practice

Sergio Campana MLR71 Lola AutoGP Marrakech 2012

Sergio Campana set the fastest time in the opening free practice session for Auto GP's maiden visit to the streets of Marrakech

MLR71 driver Campana topped the half-hour session with a time of 1m30.892s.

"The conditions were difficult to start off with as it was sunny but with some rain in places," said Campana. "I was just learning the track, I didn't make any adjustments to the car at all. We have qualifying later today, so there was no point in taking any risks. But after the track started to improve I thought I did quite a good job."

Valencia race two winner Sergey Sirotkin took second in the session for Euronova Racing. The 16-year-old Russian was just 0.080 seconds faster than Super Nova's championship leader Adrian Quaife-Hobbs.

Manor MP's Chris van der Drift was fourth, and a closely contested top five was completed by Monza reversed-grid winner Pal Varhaug.

Norwegian Varhaug has a new team-mate at Virtuosi UK this weekend. Former Euro Series 3000 veteran and IndyCar starter Franceso Dracone replaces Formula Renault 3.5 race winner Sten Pentus.

In further changes to the entry list, Italian Giacomo Ricci returns to Zele Racing in place of Matteo Beretta. The former GP2 racer competed with Zele at the Monza season opener.

Ricci ended the morning in seventh place on the timesheets, behind Quaife-Hobbs' Super Nova team-mate Victor Guerin, while series returnee Dracone took the penultimate position in the classification.

Pos  Driver               Team         Time       Gap
 1.  Sergio Campana       MLR 71       1m30.892s
 2.  Sergey Sirotkin      Euronova     1m30.919s  + 0.027s
 3.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Super Nova   1m31.091s  + 0.199s
 4.  Chris van der Drift  Manor MP     1m31.926s  + 1.034s
 5.  Pal Varhaug          Virtuosi UK  1m31.930s  + 1.038s
 6.  Victor Guerin        Super Nova   1m32.383s  + 1.491s
 7.  Giacomo Ricci        Zele         1m32.604s  + 1.712s
 8.  Giancarlo Serenelli  Ombra        1m32.698s  + 1.806s
 9.  Facu Regalia         Campos       1m32.750s  + 1.858s
10.  Daniel de Jong       Manor MP     1m32.877s  + 1.985s
11.  Yann Cunha           Ombra        1m32.957s  + 2.065s
12.  Giuseppe Cipriani    Campos       1m33.188s  + 2.296s
13.  Antonio Spavone      Euronova     1m33.420s  + 2.528s
14.  Maxim Snegirev       Campos       1m34.260s  + 3.368s
15.  Francesco Dracone    Virtuosi UK  1m36.347s  + 5.455s
16.  Michele la Rosa      MLR 71       1m43.112s  + 12.220s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Van der Drift wins Auto GP race two
Sirotkin 'just didn't see' start
Campana wins Marrakech thriller
Sirotkin takes pole on street debut
Quaife-Hobbs fastest at Marrakech