Find out more about our subscriptions

Robby Gordon closes on Dakar Rally leader Stephane Peterhansel but Nasser Al-Attiyah retires

Robby Gordon, Hummer, Dakar 2012Robby Gordon moved to within 5m58s of Dakar Rally leader Stephane Peterhansel by winning Tuesday's Antofagasta to Iquique stage, but the American's Hummer team-mate - and 2011 event winner - Nasser Al-Attiyah's bid for a repeat victory has ended in retirement.

Al-Attiyah had remained optimistic that he could pull off a second straight win even when nearly three quarters of an hour behind Peterhansel at the rally's halfway point, but further issues with his Hummer - today in the form of alternator and engine problems - saw the World Rally Championship regular forced to finally withdraw from the event.

Even as one Hummer retired, the team's chances of victory were boosted as Gordon claimed his first stage win of the 2012 Dakar, beating X-raid Mini driver Peterhansel by 1m38s to reduce the Frenchman's lead to just under six minutes.

"We pushed, like qualifying hard, not really knowing where you're going," said Gordon. "We had a couple of big scary moments.

"For us, we've got to make time. We're in a different position to him. He has to conserve his time and I've got to make it. We've got four days left, four real days of racing left and the Hummer's strong."

The battle for third is also still ongoing, with Krzysztof Holowczyc's advantage over X-raid team-mate Nani Roma reduced to 2m37s after an error by the Pole today.

Leading positions after stage nine:

Pos  Driver                Car           Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  Mini         24h41m14s
 2.  Robby Gordon          Hummer         + 5m58s
 3.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   Mini          + 16m49s
 4.  Nani Roma             Mini          + 19m26s
 5.  Giniel de Villiers    Toyota        + 54m10s
 6.  Leonid Novitskiy      Mini        + 1h29m20s
 7.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall  + 1h44m27s
 8.  Lucio Alvarez         Toyota      + 2h31m35s
 9.  Duncan Vos            Toyota      + 2h44m41s
10.  Erik van Loon         Mitsubishi  + 2h59m12s
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel relieved to win again
Peterhansel takes Mini to Dakar win
Peterhansel on brink of Dakar win
Peterhansel leads despite dune scare
Gordon trouble helps Peterhansel
Roma, Gordon close on Peterhansel
Al-Attiyah sure victory still possible
Hummers fly while Peterhansel leads
Dakar stage six cancelled
Holowczyc closes on Peterhansel
Peterhansel leads after Al-Attiyah woe
Holowczyc takes Dakar lead
Peterhansel leads, Al-Attiyah stars
Novitskiy leads, Al-Attiyah in trouble
Al Attiyah on his Dakar defence
Dakar preview: 2012 event wide open