Find out more about our subscriptions

Hector Faubel given win in 125cc dead heat with Johann Zarco at the Sachsenring

Hector Faubel was awarded victory on a tie-break in a remarkable photo finish to the Sachsenring 125cc race.

The Aspar rider, who returned to 125cc this year after three seasons in 250cc/Moto2, crossed the line in an exact dead heat with Johann Zarco (Ajo).

The duo could not be separated on the timing screens or on video replays, but Faubel became the official victor by virtue of having set a faster race lap than Zarco.

The duo had been part of a three-bike breakaway lead pack with Blusens' Maverick Vinales, with the trio swapping positions repeatedly into the final stages.

Faubel took the lead from Vinales on the last lap, but out of the final corner Zarco attacked on the outside and had enough momentum to edge ahead. But while Zarco began celebrating, the officials were examining video evidence and judged that he had not been in front at the line.

It was the second time this season that Zarco had thought he had clinched a maiden world championship level win only to be denied - having had victory at Catalunya taken away via a penalty.

Points leader Nico Terol finished fourth. Along with Luis Salom and Sergio Gadea, he had been part of the lead group early on before the top three broke away in the closing laps.

Efren Vazquez also briefly led but crashed out, while Miguel Oliveira was in the top five at first before falling.

Jonas Folger took seventh at his home race, just ahead of Sandro Cortese and Danny Kent, with Niklas Ajo completing the top 10.

Results - 27 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike              Time/Gap
 1.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia        39m57.979s
 2.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi              + 0.000s
 3.  Maverick Vinales     Blusens Aprilia        + 0.272s
 4.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia          + 1.723s
 5.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia             + 2.784s
 6.  Sergio Gadea         Blusens Aprilia        + 6.786s
 7.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia           + 13.116s
 8.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia       + 13.414s
 9.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia           + 13.710s
10.  Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia     + 29.090s
11.  Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia     + 29.341s
12.  Toni Finsterbusch    Freudenberg KTM       + 33.483s
13.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia       + 34.357s
14.  Danny Webb           Mahindra              + 34.405s
15.  Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia       + 36.878s
16.  Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra              + 43.087s
17.  Simone Grotzkyj      Phonica Aprilia       + 43.123s
18.  Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia      + 52.487s
19.  Luigi Morciano       Italia FMI Aprilia  + 1m01.936s
20.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia     + 1m04.494s
21.  Sturla Fagerhaug     WTR-Ten10 Aprilia   + 1m05.804s
22.  Francesco Mauriello  WTR-Ten10 Aprilia   + 1m05.900s
23.  Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia    + 1m24.205s
24.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi           + 1m27.327s
25.  Alessandro Tonucci   Italia FMI Aprilia  + 1m27.505s
26.  Alexis Masbou        Caretta KTM             + 1 lap
27.  Felix Forstenhaeusl  Schwaben Honda          + 1 lap


     Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia           26 laps
     Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia         26 laps
     Luca Gruenwald       Freudenberg KTM         23 laps
     Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi               20 laps
     Peter Sebestyen      Caretta KTM             19 laps
     Marvin Fritz         LHF Honda                8 laps
     Jack Miller          RZT Aprilia              3 laps
     Miguel Oliveira      Andalucia Aprilia        2 laps
     Taylor Mackenzie     Phonica Aprilia          2 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Vinales takes 125cc pole in Germany