Find out more about our subscriptions

Disappointing entry for Rally GB

Seventeen World Rally Cars will start the Rally Great Britain later this month - in what will be the event's lowest turn out ever as a World Rally Championship round.

The entry list for the October 22-25 event comprises 63 cars. Outside of the usual Citroen and Ford factory teams, Mads Ostberg returns in the Adapta Subaru, and Dennis Kuipers, Rene Kuipers and Peter Stephenson will all drive Ford Focus RS WRCs.

British privateer Steve Perez slots into the Stobart Ford team, while Aaron Burkart bolsters a Citroen Junior team which also boasts Petter Solberg as a scoring driver for the first time.

Super 2000 cars are represented by Patrik Sandell and Eyvind Brynildsen running Skoda Fabias and Bernardo Sousa in an Abarth Grande Punto.

Further down the field, there will be a fascinating tussle for this year's Fiesta SportTrophy International between Ireland's Craig Breen and German driver Patrick Anglade. Just like the scrap between Mikko Hirvonen and Sebastien Loeb, the Fiesta battle is a winner-takes-all two-way affair. Success for Breen would mean a trio of Ford wins, having already bagged the British and Irish Fiesta one-make series.

Unfortunately for British - and Irish - rally fans, current British Rally champion Keith Cronin is not on the entry list, while three-times BRC winner Mark Higgins misses only his second Rally GB since 1995. Not a single former British champion features in the entry.

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Rally GB attracts fewer than 50 cars