Find out more about our subscriptions

Loeb penalty gives Hirvonen victory

Sebastien Loeb, Citroen, Rally Australia 2009Sebastien Loeb has lost his Rally Australia victory after the three Citroen C4s received one minute penalties for a technical infringement.

The stewards' decision hands the win to Mikko Hirvonen, who therefore extends his championship lead to five points with just two rounds to go.

Loeb's factory team-mate Dani Sordo and Citroen Junior driver Sebastien Ogier - who had finished third and fourth - were also given the same penalty for an irregularity in their cars' anti-rollbars.

"The stewards received a post-event scrutineering report from the FIA technical delegate which stated that the front anti roll bar link of car no.1 did not comply with the homologation form of the car," said a statement from the officials.

Loeb had won the event on the road, ending a four-month win-less streak and seemingly bringing him back to within one point of Hirvonen in their battle for the title.

With Citroen tipped to dominate the next event in Catalunya, Loeb's victory had put him back in the driving seat in the 2009 title fight, but Hirvonen's increased five point cushion now gives the Ford driver a much better chance of being the first man to beat Loeb to a world championship since Petter Solberg in 2003.

The penalties leave Loeb, Sordo and Ogier in second, third and fifth places respectively, with Jari-Matti Latvala moving up from fifth to fourth in the second Ford.

Citroen does not plan to appeal against the decision.

Revised results:

Pos  Driver              Car           Time/Gap
 1.  Mikko Hirvonen      Ford        2h53m06.5s
 2.  Sebastien Loeb      Citroen     +    47.5s
 3.  Dani Sordo          Citroen     +  1m04.6s
 4.  Jari-Matti Latvala  Ford        +  1m52.0s
 5.  Sebastien Ogier     Citroen     +  2m23.3s
 6.  Matthew Wilson      Ford        +  5m26.3s
 7.  Henning Solberg     Ford        +  7m17.8s
 8.  Federico Villagra   Ford        +  7m39.4s
 9.  Hayden Paddon       Mitsubishi  + 15m36.1s
10.  Martin Prokop       Mitsubishi  + 15m44.7s

British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Citroen accepts penalties
Loeb's Citroen under investigation
Loeb secures victory in Australia
Loeb leads into deciding stages
Sordo takes narrow lead in Australia
Citroen tactics put Hirvonen in front
Latvala fends off Loeb in Australia
Latvala still leads as Ogier closes in
Latvala maintains Australia advantage
Latvala moves ahead in Australia
Ogier tops Australia superspecials