Find out more about our subscriptions

Matos fastest in afternoon practice

Raphael Matos, Luczo Dragon, Toronto practice 2009Raphael Matos set the fastest time on the practice day for the IndyCar Series' Toronto debut - despite ending the afternoon stranded in the middle of the pits straight after crashing at the final corner.

Luczo Dragon's Brazilian rookie spun and tagged the wall with two minutes of afternoon practice to go, ending the session early and cementing his place at the top of the timesheets.

Matos had been a leading factor throughout the day, having taken second to Will Power (Penske) in the morning.

Power was third this afternoon, just behind Watkins Glen winner Justin Wilson, who moved back into contention for Dale Coyne Racing after a quiet opening practice session.

Robert Doornbos took fourth for Newman/Haas/Lanigan, benefiting from having raced at the track during his Champ Car season.

The often dominant Penske and Ganassi quartet filled fifth to ninth places, ahead of Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green).

Penske's Helio Castroneves was one of several drivers to run into problems in the session, parking early after breaking his suspension against the Turn 5 wall.

Danica Patrick (AGR) had earlier hit trouble at the same place - spinning on the exit of the corner and sliding broadside into the barriers at Turn 6, bending her car's left side suspension and ending her afternoon. Her team-mate Marco Andretti had a less damaging incident, lightly tagging the wall when he spun under braking for Turn 1.

After his top five run in the morning, local hero Paul Tracy had to settle for 13th this time, having had a spin on the exit of Turn 1 along the way.

Rain is forecast for tomorrow, when there is one more free practice session prior to qualifying.

Pos  Driver             Team                 Time        Gap
 1.  Raphael Matos      Luczo Dragon         1m01.4739s
 2.  Justin Wilson      Coyne                1m01.7627s  + 0.2888s
 3.  Will Power         Penske               1m01.7722s  + 0.2983s
 4.  Robert Doornbos    Newman/Haas/Lanigan  1m01.8386s  + 0.3647s
 5.  Ryan Briscoe       Penske               1m01.8420s  + 0.3681s
 6.  Dario Franchitti   Ganassi              1m01.9237s  + 0.4498s
 7.  Helio Castroneves  Penske               1m01.9364s  + 0.4625s
 8.  Scott Dixon        Ganassi              1m01.9617s  + 0.4878s
 9.  Graham Rahal       Newman/Haas/Lanigan  1m02.0027s  + 0.5288s
10.  Tony Kanaan        Andretti Green       1m02.0044s  + 0.5305s
11.  Mike Conway        Dreyer & Reinbold    1m02.1916s  + 0.7177s
12.  Tomas Scheckter    Dreyer & Reinbold    1m02.3048s  + 0.8309s
13.  Paul Tracy         KV                   1m02.3653s  + 0.8914s
14.  Ryan Hunter-Reay   Foyt                 1m02.4745s  + 1.0006s
15.  Marco Andretti     Andretti Green       1m02.5434s  + 1.0695s
16.  Mario Moraes       KV                   1m02.6133s  + 1.1394s
17.  Alex Tagliani      Conquest             1m02.7255s  + 1.2516s
18.  Ernesto Viso       HVM                  1m02.7758s  + 1.3019s
19.  Dan Wheldon        Panther              1m03.4514s  + 1.9775s
20.  Richard Antinucci  3G                   1m03.9239s  + 2.4500s
21.  Danica Patrick     Andretti Green       1m03.9279s  + 2.4540s
22.  Hideki Mutoh       Andretti Green       1m03.9653s  + 2.4914s
23.  Ed Carpenter       Vision               1m04.7355s  + 3.2616s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Conquest calls for pit rule changes
Tracy, Castroneves play down crash
Franchitti wins amid Toronto mayhem
Franchitti takes third Toronto pole
Tracy tops chaotic wet practice
Storm delays final Toronto practice
Returnee Power leads first practice