Find out more about our subscriptions

Day 2: Servia topples Newman/Haas

Oriol Servia broke Newman/Haas' domination of the Champ Car World Series pre-season testing, by setting the fastest time on day 2 of Spring Training at the Sebring circuit in Florida yeterday (Wednesday).

The Spaniard set a best lap of 50.940s in his Patrick Racing Lola, 0.035s ahead of Newman/Haas rookie driver Sebastien Bourdais. The Frenchman's team-mate Bruno Junqueira set the third fastest time.

Servia was naturally happy to set the fastest time, but sounded a note of caution regarding the Newman/Haas squad. "It felt very good and the car was pretty quick today, although I still think that Newman/Haas has an advantage on the field," he said. "The last time I was with the same team that I finished the last year with, I won the championship in Indy Lights so we're looking forward to having a good year."

Junqueira set the fastest time in the afternoon test session, despite having a spin midway through the session due to a greasy track. "That corner - turn four - was two tenths of a second slower than yesterday. Apart from that, all the other parts of the track were faster," said the Brazilian.

Servia's obvious preference for the Lola chassis notwithstanding, American Spirit Team Johansson's Jimmy Vasser showed there's plenty of life left in the Reynard by posting a 51.353sec lap in the afternoon session, while Michel Jourdain underlined yesterday's strong form with a 51.407, good for fifth fastest, ahead of Rocketsports' Alex Tagliani at 51.434.

Jimm Vasser set the fifth fastest time driving for the new American Spirit Team Johansson squad, with Alex Tagliani fifth for Rocketsports. Briton Darren Manning set the 13th fastest time for Walker Racing.

Spring Training day 2 (unofficial)
Pos Driver Team Time
Oriol Servia Patrick Racing 50.940s
2 Sebastien Bourdais Newman/Haas 50.975s
3 Bruno Junqueira Newman/Haas 51.045s
4 Jimmy Vasser American Spirit Team Johansson 51.353s
5 Alex Tagliani Rocketsports 51.434s
6 Michel Jourdain Jr Team Rahal 51.469
7 Roberto Moreno Herdez Competition 51.644s
8 Patrick Carpentier Forsythe Racing 51.724s
9 Paul Tracy Forsythe Racing 51.737s
10 Adrian Fernandez Fernandez Racing 51.778s
11 Mario Dominguez Herdez Competition 51.888s
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay American Spirit Team Johansson 51.956s
13 Darren Manning Walker Racing 52.075s
14 Mario Haberfeld Conquest Racing 52.404s
15 Rodolfo Lavin Walker Racing 52.577s
16 Joel Camathias Dale Coyne Racing 52.632s
17 Roberto Gonzalez Dale Coyne Racing 53.131s
18 Patrick Lemarie PK Racing 53.444s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed