Find out more about our subscriptions

Bristol NASCAR: Joey Logano resists Brad Keselowski in Penske 1-2

Joey Logano wins Bristol NASCAR 2014

Joey Logano claimed his third win of the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup season by holding off team-mate Brad Keselowski in a Penske one-two in the Bristol Motor Speedway night race.

Logano was able to fight to the front and make a late break as the final portion of a sometimes destructive race ran incident-free.

A long struggle to lap Jeff Gordon allowed Keselowski and Joe Gibbs Toyota driver Matt Kenseth to close in, but Logano had enough in hand to resist both.

The trio were covered by six tenths of a second at the flag.

Jimmie Johnson recovered from two pitlane speeding penalties to take fourth, ahead of Kurt Bush, Ricky Stenhouse Jr and Carl Edwards.

Jamie McMurray - one of those still hunting for a Chase spot - looked a likely winner as he led a race-high 148 of the 500 laps.

He kept his Ganassi Chevrolet out front in battles with myriad rivals, but lost track position pitting under the final caution and then slipped back to finish eighth as his car's handling declined in the last stint.

Kasey Kahne was another long-time leader before hitting trouble. Like McMurray yet to cement a Chase place, Kahne led 40 laps before pitting with a loose wheel. He later had to return to the garage area for further repairs.

Denny Hamlin was leading the race early on when contact from poleman Kevin Harvick sent him into the wall and then into the path of Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The furious Hamlin later threw his HANS device at Harvick's car when being led away by safety crews. Harvick ultimately finished 11th following a late pitlane speeding penalty.

Hamlin's Joe Gibbs team-mate Kyle Busch was caught up in the race's other big crash, with he and Aric Almirola coming off worst in a multi-car tangle on lap 126.

Results - 500 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time/Gap
 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford              2h52m00.000s
 2.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                   +0.391s
 3.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota              +0.605s
 4.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet            +3.835s
 5.  Kurt Busch          Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +4.032s
 6.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford             +5.650s
 7.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford             +7.477s
 8.  Jamie McMurray      Ganassi Chevrolet             +9.326s
 9.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet           +9.673s
10.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            +10.060s
11.  Kevin Harvick       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       +10.100s
12.  Kyle Larson         Ganassi Chevrolet            +11.468s
13.  Ryan Newman         Childress Chevrolet          +11.852s
14.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Chevrolet      +15.321s
15.  Jeff Burton         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet         -1 lap
16.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet             -1 lap
17.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota                -2 laps
18.  Michael McDowell    Leavine Ford                  -2 laps
19.  Justin Allgaier     HScott Chevrolet              -3 laps
20.  Martin Truex Jr     Furniture Row Chevrolet       -3 laps
21.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota                -3 laps
22.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet             -3 laps
23.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford                -4 laps
24.  Reed Sorenson       Baldwin Chevrolet             -4 laps
25.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford                -5 laps
26.  Casey Mears         Germain Chevrolet             -5 laps
27.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        -7 laps
28.  Austin Dillon       Childress Chevrolet           -7 laps
29.  Josh Wise           Parsons Chevrolet             -8 laps
30.  Cole Whitt          BK Toyota                     -8 laps
31.  David Stremme       Circle Sport Chevrolet        -9 laps
32.  Alex Bowman         BK Toyota                    -11 laps
33.  JJ Yeley            Go FAS Ford                  -11 laps
34.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   -20 laps
35.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           -23 laps


     Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             442 laps
     Ryan Truex          BK Toyota                    338 laps
     Michael Annett      Baldwin Chevrolet            243 laps
     Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           176 laps
     Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             160 laps
     Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   123 laps
     Brett Moffitt       Robinson Toyota               78 laps
     Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet             37 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Harvick claims fifth pole of 2014