Find out more about our subscriptions

Spa GP2: Ferrari's Marciello beats McLaren's Vandoorne for win

Raffaele Maricello wins Spa GP2 2014

Ferrari Formula 1 protege Raffaele Marciello scored his first GP2 Series victory by defeating McLaren junior Stoffel Vandoorne in a thrilling wet-weather duel at Spa-Francorchamps.

Racing Engineering driver Marciello ran third in the early going, as the race was interrupted by a heavy rainstorm that briefly halted the event after three laps.

At the restart, leader Vandoorne (ART) briefly lost top spot to Trident's Johnny Cecotto Jr at La Source, but the latter then straightlined Les Combes moments later, and didn't back off enough and was ordered to let Vandoorne past again, a call he later questioned.

Marciello passed Cecotto for second around the outside of Les Combes on lap nine, but was 4.6s behind Vandoorne when the leader took his mandatory pitstop.

Marciello stayed out two laps longer, and rejoined within 2s of Vandoorne.

He closed the gap and they entered the last four laps nose-to-tail.

Marciello attacked numerous times, despite going off briefly at Les Combes, and finally got the job done at Rivage with two laps to go.

He went on to win by 2s from Vandoorne, with Cecotto 33s in arrears in third.

"It was a really hard race, and I'm really happy to win," said Marciello. "After the pitstop I had more grip, I was faster through Eau Rouge, and that helped a lot."

Carlin's Felipe Nasr finished fourth from 11th on the grid after an aggressive opening few laps, during which he passed title rival Jolyon Palmer's DAMS car.

Russian Time's Mitch Evans took fifth, and was lucky that the race was red-flagged as his car lapsed into safety mode under the safety car, which cost him his early second place.

Palmer finished sixth, equalling his second-worst finish of the season, ahead of a charging Artem Markelov and Daniel Abt, the latter grabbing reversed-grid pole for Sunday's race at the start of the final lap from Andre Negrao.

Follow the second Spa GP2 race as it happens with AUTOSPORT Race Centre Live from 9.30am UK time on Sunday

Results - 25 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team                    Time/Gap
 1.  Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering  1h19m29.116s
 2.  Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                      +2.088s
 3.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident                 +35.375s
 4.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin                  +39.831s
 5.  Mitch Evans          Russian Time            +50.526s
 6.  Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                  +1m00.123s
 7.  Artem Markelov       Russian Time          +1m01.166s
 8.  Daniel Abt           Hilmer                +1m01.776s
 9.  Andre Negrao         Arden                 +1m02.872s
10.  Daniel de Jong       MP                    +1m05.435s
11.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                 +1m11.224s
12.  Tom Dillmann         Caterham              +1m16.681s
13.  Julian Leal          Carlin                +1m17.071s
14.  Marco Sorensen       MP                    +1m18.325s
15.  Arthur Pic           Campos                +1m18.578s
16.  Takuya Izawa         ART                   +1m19.110s
17.  Kimiya Sato          Campos                +1m21.789s
18.  Simon Trummer        Rapax                 +1m22.766s
19.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer                +1m32.099s
20.  Sergio Canamasas     Trident               +1m33.957s
21.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                  +1m34.528s
22.  Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus               +1m50.554s


     Rio Haryanto         Caterham                 21 laps
     Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering       11 laps
     Rene Binder          Arden                     5 laps
     Conor Daly           Lazarus                   0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Nasr scores fourth victory of 2014
Vandoorne beats Palmer to pole
Leal tops Spa GP2 practice