Find out more about our subscriptions

Spa GP2: Julian Leal heads practice for Carlin

Julian Leal, Carlin, Spa GP2 2014

Julian Leal topped GP2 practice at Spa-Francorchamps for Carlin, in a session that was marred by a red flag towards the end.

Johnny Cecotto Jr looked to have the pace early on, but Leal went quickest with a 1m57.877s - making him the only driver to go into the 1m57s all session.

Stefano Coletti then brought the red flags out having gone wide into the gravel, and spun back onto the road. He did well to avoid contact with the barriers, but was unable to get moving again, and had to end his session early.

After the marshals cleared the stricken Racing Engineering Dallara from the middle of the track, and swept away the gravel strewn across track in the incident, only four minutes remained of the session and no one was able to improve.

Cecotto finished the session second, 0.1 seconds behind, with Raffaele Marciello 0.3s behind Leal's time in third.

An encouraging start to the weekend for the Lazarus team allowed Nathanael Berthon to end the session fourth, ahead of team-mate Conor Daly in fifth.

Home driver Stoffel Vandoorne and Sergio Canamasas finished sixth and seventh, and Coletti retained eighth position despite his early exit.

Stephane Richelmi and Mitch Evans rounded out the top 10.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Julian Leal          Carlin              1m57.877s
 2.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident             1m58.030s  +0.153s
 3.  Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering  1m58.265s  +0.388s
 4.  Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus             1m58.291s  +0.414s
 5.  Conor Daly           Lazarus             1m58.302s  +0.425s
 6.  Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                 1m58.339s  +0.462s
 7.  Sergio Canamasas     Trident             1m58.370s  +0.493s
 8.  Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering  1m58.374s  +0.497s
 9.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                1m58.399s  +0.522s
10.  Mitch Evans          Russian Time        1m58.439s  +0.562s
11.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax               1m58.454s  +0.577s
12.  Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                1m58.462s  +0.585s
13.  Marco Sorensen       MP                  1m58.487s  +0.610s
14.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              1m58.658s  +0.781s
15.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               1m58.787s  +0.910s
16.  Rio Haryanto         Caterham            1m58.800s  +0.923s
17.  Takuya Izawa         ART                 1m58.889s  +1.012s
18.  Tom Dillmann         Caterham            1m58.923s  +1.046s
19.  Daniel Abt           Hilmer              1m58.943s  +1.066s
20.  Arthur Pic           Campos              1m59.020s  +1.143s
21.  Rene Binder          Arden               1m59.167s  +1.290s
22.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer              1m59.179s  +1.302s
23.  Daniel de Jong       MP                  1m59.311s  +1.434s
24.  Andre Negrao         Arden               1m59.463s  +1.586s
25.  Artem Markelov       Russian Time        1m59.531s  +1.654s
26.  Kimiya Sato          Campos              1m59.564s  +1.687s
 Earlier GP2 story More news Next GP2 story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Nasr scores fourth victory of 2014
Marciello beats Vandoorne for first win
Vandoorne beats Palmer to pole