Find out more about our subscriptions

Donington Park Formula E test: Sebastien Buemi ends pre-season top

Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi capped off his dominant Formula E pre-season testing form by topping the timesheets in Tuesday's final Donington Park test.

The ex-Toro Rosso Formula 1 driver recorded the quickest time for the e.dams team in both sessions, with a best effort of 1m31.792s in the afternoon.

"We're really happy with today, especially being the last test before Beijing," said Buemi. "We still have a few issues with the car which we need to work on and also to better understand the limits of the car.

"Overall we're feeling good for the first race but we'll have to wait and see, a lot of teams are also looking quick."

Nicolas Prost made it a one-two for the team that his father Alain co-owns, setting a time three tenths shy of the benchmark set by Buemi.

Andretti Autosport's Franck Montagny was third quickest, marginally slower than Prost, with Mahindra driver Bruno Senna and Virgin Racing's Sam Bird also within half a second of Buemi.

Next up were ex-F1 pilots Lucas di Grassi, Karun Chandhok and Jerome D'Ambrosio, with Venturi team-mates Stephane Sarrazin and Nick Heidfeld rounding out the top 10.

As well as the two timed sessions, the test featured four 12-lap race simulations, although some teams chose to focus on experimenting with set-up and efficiency rather than the pursuit of outright speed.

Former Marussia and Caterham driver Charles Pic was present at the test for Andretti Autosport - which is yet to announce the identity of Montagny's team-mate - while Takuma Sato drove for Amlin Aguri despite not being part of the Japanese squad's confirmed line-up.

China Racing, which is yet to announce either of its drivers for the upcoming season, fielded ex-Renault F1 pilot Nelson Piquet Jr, sometime GP2 racer Ho-Pin Tung and Antonio Garcia in the test.

Pos Driver             Team      Time        Gap    
 1. Sebastien Buemi    e.dams    1m31.792s          
 2. Nicolas Prost      e.dams    1m32.117s   +0.325s
 3. Franck Montagny    Andretti  1m32.143s   +0.351s
 4. Bruno Senna        Mahindra  1m32.249s   +0.457s
 5. Sam Bird           Virgin    1m32.292s   +0.500s
 6. Lucas di Grassi    Abt       1m32.293s   +0.501s
 7. Karun Chandhok     Mahindra  1m32.369s   +0.577s
 8. Jerome d'Ambrosio  Dragon    1m32.646s   +0.854s
 9. Stephane Sarrazin  Venturi   1m32.663s   +0.871s
10. Nick Heidfeld      Venturi   1m32.775s   +0.983s
11. Nelson Piquet      China     1m32.808s   +1.016s
12. Jaime Alguersuari  Virgin    1m32.821s   +1.029s
13. Charles Pic        Andretti  1m32.841s   +1.049s
14. Daniel Abt         Abt       1m32.867s   +1.075s
15. Jarno Trulli       Trulli    1m32.892s   +1.100s
16. Oriol Servia       Dragon    1m33.411s   +1.619s
17. Antonio Garcia     China     1m33.469s   +1.677s
18. Takuma Sato        Aguri     1m35.425s   +3.633s
19. Michela Cerruti    Trulli    1m35.444s   +3.652s
20. Katherine Legge    Aguri     1m38.112s   +6.320s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed