Find out more about our subscriptions

Red Bull Ring European F3: Antonio Giovinazzi scores belated win

Antonio Giovinazzi made up for his disappointment earlier in the day to finally claim his first Formula 3 European Championship win at the Red Bull Ring.

The Italian led fellow Jagonya Ayam protege and Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen driver Tom Blomqvist all the way to win by three seconds.

Blomqvist tried his best to get past on the opening lap, before dropping away and completing an excellent weekend that has netted him a win and two seconds.

Lucas Auer squeezed ahead of Antonio Fuoco into the first corner, and the Austrian continued in third place to take his second podium of the day in his Mucke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes.

There was plenty of action behind. Max Verstappen tried to pass Fuoco at Turn 2, but ran wide over the next two corners and dropped to eighth.

Verstappen had to fight his way past Jordan King, Nicholas Latifi and then Jake Dennis before once again moving in to challenge Fuoco.

With four laps remaining the Dutchman made his move at Turn 1, but ran wide. As he returned to the track, he brushed against Fuoco, damaging the Italian's front wing.

Fuoco was forced to pit for a new wing, while Verstappen - who passed Fuoco cleanly on the lap after the incident - was penalised 20 seconds after the race, dropping him outside the points to 12th.

The decision promoted Latifi to fourth, the Canadian having passed Dennis on the exit of Turn 2 as the group bunched up in the wake of the Verstappen/Fuoco battle.

Dennis took fifth from Ed Jones and Jordan King, making it five Carlin runners in the top seven.

The points positions were completed by Gustavo Menezes, Tatiana Calderon and Sean Gelael - the Indonesian making it all six Carlin drivers in the top 10.

A host of drive-through penalties were given for improving sector times under yellow flags.

The most significant of these was championship leader Esteban Ocon, who had raced from 14th to eighth - and was running ahead of King and Jones - when he was forced to serve his penalty. He recovered to finish 13th.

There was one early safety car, caused when Felix Rosenqvist and Alexander Toril went into the gravel at Turn 5 in separate incidents on the third lap.

Results - 24 laps:                                                
Pos  Driver             Team/Car                         Time/Gap 
 1.  Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin Dallara-VW              36m13.881s 
 2.  Tom Blomqvist      Carlin Dallara-VW                 +3.151s 
 3.  Lucas Auer         Mucke Dallara-Merc               +11.212s 
 4.  Nicholas Latifi    Prema Dallara-Merc               +15.289s 
 5.  Jake Dennis        Carlin Dallara-VW                +16.566s 
 6.  Ed Jones           Carlin Dallara-VW                +17.344s 
 7.  Jordan King        Carlin Dallara-VW                +17.679s 
 8.  Gustavo Menezes    Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW        +18.393s 
 9.  Tatiana Calderon   Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc           +18.788s 
10.  Sean Gelael        Carlin Dallara-VW                +20.774s 
11.  Roy Nissany        Mucke Dallara-Merc               +25.050s 
12.  Max Verstappen     Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW        +33.498s 
13.  Esteban Ocon       Prema Dallara-Merc               +33.832s 
14.  Dennis van de Laar Prema Dallara-Merc               +43.860s 
15.  Jules Szymkowiak   Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW        +45.992s 
16.  Hector Hurst       West-Tec Dallara Merc            +55.552s 
17.  Spike Goddard      T-Sport Dallara-NBE              +57.486s 
18.  Sandro Zeller      Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc           +57.551s 
19.  Antonio Fuoco      Prema Dallara-Merc             +1m01.118s 
20.  Santino Ferrucci   EuroInternational Dallara-Merc    -3 laps 
     Felix Serralles     West-Tec Dallara-Merc            10 laps 
     Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc                7 laps 
     Alexander Toril     T-Sport Dallara-NBE               2 laps 
     Michele Beretta     EuroInternational Dallara-Merc    2 laps 
     Alfonso Celis Jr    Fortec Dallara-Merc               0 laps 
     John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Dallara-Merc               0 laps 
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ocon handed grid penalty
Fuoco inherits Giovinazzi’s F3 win
Giovinazzi grabs double pole
Verstappen penalised for illegal pass
Blomqvist wins, Ocon/Verstappen clash
Ocon wins four-way pole fight
Giovinazzi surprises in Austria