Find out more about our subscriptions

Queensland V8 Supercars: Jamie Whincup beats Craig Lowndes to win

Jamie Whincup wins Queensland V8 Supercars 2014

Jamie Whincup took a big slice out of Mark Winterbottom's V8 Supercars championship lead by beating Triple Eight Holden team-mate Craig Lowndes to race one victory at Queensland Raceway.

After filling the front row, Lowndes and Whincup edged away from the pack as one in the first half of the race, with the reigning champion clinging tightly to his team-mate's tail.

When Lowndes ran wide onto the front straight just after half-distance, Whincup got a run and grabbed the lead into Turn 1.

He went in too deep and Lowndes was able to slice back through, but a dive at Turn 3 got Whincup ahead for good, and he then pulled away to win by 4.6 seconds.

Volvo driver Scott McLaughlin was a lonely third. He will start on pole for Saturday's second race.

While Fabian Coulthard had a very quiet race to fourth, the battle behind was fraught.

Winterbottom only qualified seventh, but passed erstwhile Ford Performance Racing team-mate Will Davison's Erebus Mercedes mid-race and then closed in on the Holden Racing Team Commodore of James Courtney.

The points leader dived past Courtney as they started the first lap, but Courtney immediately retaliated, giving Davison another shot back at Winterbottom too.

After a wild final half-lap, Courtney, Winterbottom and Davison crossed the line covered by just 0.2s, with Winterbottom's lead over Whincup down to 72 points and an 11th-place start looming in race two, where Whincup will be on the second row.

Just behind this group, Garth Tander muscled his way through to eighth from 15th on the grid.

Results - 33 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden    39m15.7016s
 2.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden       +4.6356s
 3.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                 +7.9625s
 4.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden        +12.2176s
 5.  James Courtney       HRT Holden               +14.9171s
 6.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                 +15.0452s
 7.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes          +15.1652s
 8.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden               +18.9102s
 9.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford        +21.7084s
10.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden             +22.8393s
11.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                   +23.1473s
12.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden    +24.4415s
13.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                   +25.4860s
14.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                 +26.4111s
15.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden     +26.4140s
16.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford        +26.6797s
17.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes          +26.8461s
18.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden        +27.1685s
19.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford        +30.6452s
20.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden          +31.6797s
21.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford      +32.6046s
22.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden        +38.8038s
23.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                +39.9072s
24.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                     -2 laps


     James Moffat         Nissan                     30 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Courtney wins Queensland finale
Nissan/Volvo clash hands Whincup win