Find out more about our subscriptions

Red Bull Ring ELMS: Harry Tincknell gives Jota Zytek another pole

Jota Zytek-Nissan, Red Bull Ring ELMS 2014

Harry Tincknell maintained the British Jota Sport team's unbeaten run of pole positions in the 2014 European Le Mans Series at the Red Bull Ring.

Tincknell, who set pole for the team at the Silverstone series opener in April, produced three laps good enough to top the timesheets aboard the Jota Zytek-Nissan Z11SN LMP2 during the 20-minute qualifying session ahead of Sunday afternoon's race.

The Briton ended up on a 1m23.078s, which put him nearly half a second ahead of the Race Performance ORECA-Judd/BMW 03 driven by Franck Mailleux.

Tincknell, who shares the Zytek with Filipe Albuquerque and Simon Dolan, said: "We've certainly got the qualifying performance down to a tee and we are very happy to maintain our 100 per cent record for poles."

Mailleux set his time of 1m23.561s after the chequered flag had fallen to knock Tristan Gommendy off the front row in the TDS Racing Ligier-Nissan JSP2 by just half a tenth.

Local driver Christian Klien ended up fourth in the Morand Racing Morgan-Judd/BMW LMP2 a further tenth back.

GTE honours went to the Franco-Russian SMP Racing Ferrari 458 Italia driven by Andrea Bertolini.

The Ferrari factory driver ended up just over two tenths of a second ahead of Richard Lietz, who is making a one-off appearance in the series with the Proton Competition Porsche squad.

Corvette Racing regular Jan Magnussen returned to the ELMS after one race away to set his second pole of the year in the GTC class Ferrari fielded by the Danish Formula Racing team.

Leading qualifiers:
Pos Cl Drivers Team/Car Time 1. P2 Dolan/Tincknell/Albuquerque Jota Zytek-Nissan 1m23.078s 2. P2 Frey/Mailleux Race Performance ORECA-Judd 1m23.561s 3. P2 Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy TDS Ligier-Nissan 1m23.613s 4. P2 Klien/Hirsch/Ragues Morand Morgan-Judd 1m23.763s 5. P2 Chatin/Panciatici/Webb Signatech Alpine-Nissan 1m23.785s 6. P2 Kimber-Smith/McMurray/Patterson Greaves Zytek-Nissan 1m23.995s 7. P2 Bacheta/Schulzhitskiy Greaves Zytek-Nissan 1m23.997s 8. P2 Schell/Leutwiler/Coleman Pegasus Morgan-Nissan 1m25.449s 9. GTE Bertolini/Shaitar/Zlobin SMP Ferrari 1m29.286s 10. GTE Felbermayr/Felbermayr/Lietz Proton Porsche 1m29.499s Other class polesitters: 21. GTC Laursen/Mac/Magnussen Formula Ferrari 1m30.647s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Signatech defeats Jota in ELMS battle