Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim GP3: Ex-gamer Jann Mardenborough takes biggest win yet

Jann Mardenborough wins Hockenheim GP3 2014

Gamer-turned-racer Jann Mardenborough scored the biggest victory of his burgeoning racing career in the second GP3 race at Hockenheim on Sunday morning.

The Nissan-backed 22-year-old dominated the race from start to finish from reversed-grid pole position.

Third-placed starter Dino Zamparelli outdragged title contender Jimmy Eriksson away from the startline to take second, and pressured Mardenborough in the opening stages.

But fastest lap by Mardenborough on the fifth tour broke Zamparelli's attack, and the Arden driver pulled away to a 3.8-second victory.

"My first win in international single-seaters - I'm hugely happy," said Mardenborough, whose previous victories had come in the Toyota Racing Series and British GT Championship.

ART's Zamparelli held second throughout, while Eriksson spent much of the event fending off points leader Alex Lynn, who leapt from eighth to fourth at the hairpin on the opening lap.

He had dived past Saturday's winner Marvin Kirchhofer just as Dean Stoneman ran wide and took Nick Yelloly and Emil Bernstorff with him.

Eriksson, who suffered a brief off at the Spitzkehre hairpin despite yellow flags being waved, finished ahead of Lynn and the championship gap between them is now 18 points.

NEWS UPDATE: Eriksson loses podium to penalty

Stoneman nabbed fifth off Yelloly when the latter ran wide at Turn 1 with a couple of laps to go, passing him on the Parabolika sweeper moments later.

Patric Niederhauser inherited seventh due to Kirchhofer and Bernstorff colliding at the hairpin on lap six of 18.

Richie Stanaway completed the point scorers in eighth.

Results - 18 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team        Time/Gap
 1.  Jann Mardenborough   Arden     27m48.880s
 2.  Dino Zamparelli      ART          +3.860s
 3.  Jimmy Eriksson       Koiranen     +6.196s
 4.  Alex Lynn            Carlin       +7.687s
 5.  Dean Stoneman        Manor        +8.688s
 6.  Nick Yelloly         Status       +9.169s
 7.  Patric Niederhauser  Arden       +10.046s
 8.  Richie Stanaway      Status      +13.158s
 9.  Riccardo Agostini    Hilmer      +13.502s
10.  Robert Visoiu        Arden       +14.251s
11.  Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      +15.999s
12.  Matheo Tuscher       Jenzer      +21.983s
13.  Adderly Fong         Jenzer      +22.949s
14.  Alex Fontana         ART         +23.343s
15.  Nelson Mason         Hilmer      +24.801s
16.  Patrick Kujala       Manor       +27.467s
17.  Roman de Beer        Trident     +29.522s
18.  Santiago Urrutia     Koiranen    +30.129s
19.  Ryan Cullen          Manor       +42.308s
20.  Victor Carbone       Trident     +43.252s
21.  Sebastian Balthasar  Hilmer      +43.815s
22.  Carmen Jorda         Koiranen  +1m09.384s


     Alfonso Celis Jr     Status       17 laps
     Mitch Gilbert        Trident      12 laps
     Emil Bernstorff      Carlin        8 laps
     Marvin Kirchhofer    ART           7 laps
     Pal Varhaug          Jenzer        0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Eriksson title bid hit by penalty
Kirchhofer dominates home GP3 race
Kirchhofer takes maiden GP3 pole
Stanaway leads practice for Status