Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim GP2: Stefano Coletti heads Stoffel Vandoorne in practice

Stefano Coletti, Racing Engineering, Hockenheim GP2 2014

Stefano Coletti recorded the fastest time in free practice at a scorchingly-hot Hockenheim in GP2 free practice, outpacing McLaren Formula 1 junior Stoffel Vandoorne by a tenth of a second.

Racing Engineering driver Coletti and ART's Vandoorne swapped the top spot on a couple of occasions, with the Italian ending the session in front with his 1m24.771s.

He then sat-out the last 10 minutes of the session, and watched his rivals fail to beat his time.

Coletti's team-mate Raffaele Marciello was third fastest, having starred in recent races without quite getting the results his pace has deserved.

Caterham refugee Alexander Rossi was fourth quickest on his first run for Campos Racing, while his replacement at Caterham, Tom Dillmann, could only manage 21st.

Conor Daly was a late improver, going P5 for Lazarus having spent most of the session near the bottom of the times.

Series dominator Jolyon Palmer was down in 12th after the 45-minute session, with nearest rival Felipe Nasr in eighth.

Nasr's Carlin team-mate Julian Leal stopped at the Parabolika during the session, while MP's Marco Sorensen did likewise at the entrance to the pitlane, as did Campos's Arthur Pic.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
1. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1m24.771s
2. Stoffel Vandoorne ART 1m24.881s +0.110s
3. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1m25.154s +0.383s
4. Alexander Rossi Campos 1m25.177s +0.406s
5. Conor Daly Lazarus 1m25.228s +0.457s
6. Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1m25.271s +0.500s
7. Nathanael Berthon Lazarus 1m25.299s +0.528s
8. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1m25.329s +0.558s
9. Johnny Cecotto Trident 1m25.355s +0.584s
10. Rene Binder Arden 1m25.359s +0.588s
11. Daniel de Jong MP 1m25.448s +0.677s
12. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1m25.494s +0.723s
13. Arthur Pic Campos 1m25.497s +0.726s
14. Takuya Izawa ART 1m25.589s +0.818s
15. Rio Haryanto Caterham 1m25.671s +0.900s
16. Sergio Canamasas Trident 1m25.676s +0.905s
17. Mitch Evans Russian Time 1m25.719s +0.948s
18. Daniel Abt Hilmer 1m25.736s +0.965s
19. Simon Trummer Rapax 1m25.792s +1.021s
20. Jon Lancaster Hilmer 1m25.841s +1.070s
21. Tom Dillmann Caterham 1m25.911s +1.140s
22. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1m25.964s +1.193s
23. Andre Negrao Arden 1m26.031s +1.260s
24. Artem Markelov Russian Time 1m26.139s +1.368s
25. Marco Sorensen MP 1m26.314s +1.543s
26. Julian Leal Carlin 1m26.672s +1.901s
 Earlier GP2 story More news Next GP2 story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Coletti wins wet-dry GP2 thriller
Evans flies from 15th to victory
GP2 trio penalised for impeding
Palmer on pole for 200th GP2 race