Find out more about our subscriptions

Mosport Park USC: Gustavo Yacaman beats Ryan Dalziel to pole

Gustavo Yacaman qualified on pole for the United SportsCar Championship race at Mosport Park in the Prototype class.

The OAK Racing driver was quickest in both of Friday's practice sessions and his 1m09.167s in qualifying put him 0.289 seconds ahead of Extreme Sped man Ryan Dalziel, who looked close to taking the top spot throughout as LMP2 cars filled the front row.

Watkins Glen winner Richard Westbrook was the highest placed Daytona Prototype for Spirit of Daytona, down 0.4s from Yacaman, with Extreme Speed's Johannes van Overbeek fourth.

Ex-Formula 1 driver Christian Fittipaldi's fifth place did not do justice to his pace that looked to challenge at the front in the session, but he starts ahead of fellow Corvette DP driver Ricky Taylor in sixth.


The 15-minute GTLM session resulted in Kuno Wittmer setting the quickest time in his class in the SRT Motorsports Viper.

Antonio Garcia could not manage to better Wittmer's time and the Corvette driver was beaten by a slender 0.07s.

Wolf Henzler claimed third in the category for the Falken Porsche team, ahead of Oliver Gavin's Corvette.

SRT Viper also did well in the GTD class, this time Jeroen Bleekemolen dominating the pace to take class honours.

Spencer Pumpelly in the Audi R8 finished second and the BMW Z4 of Dane Cameron third, both 0.1s behind the leader.

Leading qualifying times:                                            
Pos Cl    Drivers              Team/Car                    Time     
 1. P     Yacaman/Pla          OAK Morgan-Nissan           1m09.167s
 2. P     Dalziel/Sharp        Extreme Speed HPD           1m09.456s
 3. P     Westbrook/Valiante   Spirit Corvette DP          1m09.642s
 4. P     Brown/van Overbeek   Extreme Speed HPD           1m10.136s
 5. P     Fittipaldi/Barbosa   Action Express Corvette DP  1m10.298s
 6. P     Taylor/Taylor        Taylor Corvette DP          1m10.336s
 7. P     Rojas/Pruett         Ganassi Riley-Ford          1m10.433s
 8. P     Negri Jr/Pew         Michael Shank Riley-Ford    1m11.339s
 9. P     Miller/Nunez         SpeedSource Mazda           1m12.829s
10. P     Long/Tremblay        SpeedSource Mazda           1m14.700s
Other class poles:                                                   
11. GTLM  Wittmer/Bomarito     SRT Viper                   1m15.206s
21. GTD   Bleekemolen/Keating  Riley Viper                 1m19.004s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
DeltaWing withdraws following fire