Find out more about our subscriptions

Sachsenring MotoGP: Aleix Espargaro stays on top in FP2

Aleix Espargaro put in another last-minute lap to beat Marc Marquez in the second MotoGP practice session at the Sachsenring.

Just as he had in the morning, Open class Forward Yamaha rider Espargaro popped to the top right at the end of the session, this time with a 1m22.041s.

Until then, Marquez had been holding first place as he proved there were no ill effects from his massive morning crash, in which he had landed heavily on his neck.

Honda's world championship leader remained second, 0.117 seconds behind Espargaro.

This time it was the other works Honda of Dani Pedrosa that had the big accident, with a high-speed tumble in the downhill Waterfall section. He was unhurt and later rejoined to take ninth.

Jorge Lorenzo was the fastest works Yamaha in third, ahead of local favourite Stefan Bradl and Alvaro Bautista.

Top Ducati honours went to Andrea Iannone in sixth place for Pramac.

Valentino Rossi was the only frontrunner who went slower than in practice one. He was classified 10th.

Paul Bird Motorsport rider Michael Laverty briefly got up to an eye-catching 10th place, though he had a crash soon after. He ended up 14th.

Pos Rider             Bike                   Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Aleix Espargaro   Forward Yamaha         1m22.041s           18
 2. Marc Marquez      Honda                  1m22.158s  +0.117s  20
 3. Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                 1m22.368s  +0.327s  23
 4. Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda              1m22.430s  +0.389s  22
 5. Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda          1m22.440s  +0.399s  23
 6. Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati          1m22.565s  +0.524s  23
 7. Pol Espargaro     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m22.569s  +0.528s  21
 8. Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                 1m22.576s  +0.535s  23
 9. Dani Pedrosa      Honda                  1m22.589s  +0.548s  18
10. Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                 1m22.619s  +0.578s  21
11. Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m22.719s  +0.678s  23
12. Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati          1m22.724s  +0.683s  18
13. Cal Crutchlow     Ducati                 1m22.757s  +0.716s  21
14. Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia            1m22.928s  +0.887s  19
15. Scott Redding     Gresini Honda          1m22.933s  +0.892s  17
16. Hiroshi Aoyama    Aspar Honda            1m22.961s  +0.920s  23
17. Karel Abraham     Cardion Honda          1m23.049s  +1.008s  18
18. Nicky Hayden      Aspar Honda            1m23.204s  +1.163s  22
19. Colin Edwards     Forward Yamaha         1m23.327s  +1.286s  21
20. Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m23.393s  +1.352s  18
21. Mike di Meglio    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m23.858s  +1.817s  21
22. Danilo Petrucci   Ioda Aprilia           1m23.912s  +1.871s  22
23. Broc Parkes       PBM Aprilia            1m24.158s  +2.117s  17

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez wins bizarre German GP
Marquez on pole as Pedrosa crashes
Marquez on top in practice three
Espargaro quickest as Marquez crashes