Find out more about our subscriptions

Zandvoort F3 Masters: Max Verstappen dominates race

Max Verstappen dominated the Zandvoort Masters to emulate the 1993 success of father Jos in the Formula 3 invitational event.

Pole-winner Verstappen Jr led from start to finish in his Motopark Dallara-Volkswagen F308 to claim victory by just over six seconds from Van Amersfoort driver Jules Szymkowiak.

Verstappen rebuffed a strong challenge from fellow front-row starter Sam MacLeod into the first corner and emerged from the Tarzan Hairpin in front of Szymkowiak, who nudged MacLeod in the braking zone, sending the Briton into the gravel.

The race winner was 1.7s ahead at the end of the first lap and 2.6s after two laps.

Verstappen stabilised his advantage over Szymkowiak's Dallara-VW gap at 4s before extending it over the final stages.

"It is a great feeling, especially having good pace over the whole race," said Verstappen.

"I was able to pull a gap in the first few laps so I could save my tyres mid-race: in the last few laps I had better tyres than Jules and was able to increase the gap."

F3 debutant Steijn Schothorst claimed third in his Performance Racing Dallara-VW after vaulting from seventh on the grid to third at the first corner.

The Dutchman, who is racing in the Formula Renault NEC this season, briefly lost third to Nabil Jeffri on the opening lap before repassing the Motopark driver four corners later.

Jeffri ended up fourth ahead of team-mate Indy Dontje, who passed Martin Cao for the position on the sixth lap.

The results remain provisional while an investigation is carried out into the first-corner incident between MacLeod and Szymkowiak.

Results - 25 laps

Pos Driver               Team/Car                       Time/Gap
 1. Max Verstappen       Motopark Dallara-VW 
 2. Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW      +6.330s
 3. Steijn Schothorst    Performance Dallara-VW         +9.779s
 4. Nabil Jeffri         Motopark Dallara-VW            +10.979s
 5. Indy Dontje          Motopark Dallara-VW            +11.666s
 6. Martin Cao           Fortec Dallara-Merc            +28.602s
 7. Nikita Zlobin        ADM Dallara-VW                 +29.345s
 8. Dennis van der Laar  Double R Dallara-Merc          +29.488s
 9. Camren Kaminsky      Double R Dallara-Merc          +32.521s
10. Andy Chang           Double R Dallara-Merc          +35.030s


    Sam MacLeod          Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW      25 laps
 Earlier F3 story More news Next F3 story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Szymkowiak demoted to fifth
Verstappen snatches Masters F3 pole
Verstappen and Dontje tie in practice