Find out more about our subscriptions

Townsville V8 Supercars: Jamie Whincup doubles up in race three

A different strategy enabled Jamie Whincup to take his second V8 Supercars win of the weekend in the series' longest ever race at Townsville.

The Triple Eight driver did not follow the majority of the field into the pits after an early safety car and this meant he had fresher rubber to take the lead from Garth Tander's Holden towards the end of the 250km race.

Jason Bright had to defend heavily from pole from Whincup at the start but he was unable to make a move round the outside stick.

Further back there was contact between Dale Wood and Jack Perkins, which brought the safety car out and meant two-thirds of the field dived in the pits.

Whincup stayed out however, so led from the restart, but there was trouble for Bright as he was given a drive-through penalty for having spinning wheels during his stop that dropped him out of contention.

Once all the stops had been made, Whincup had a five-second deficit to Tander but quickly reeled the race-two winner in. On lap 70 he dived up the inside of Tander at Turn 2, but Tander reclaimed the place at the next corner.

However, further around the lap, Whincup made the decisive move that gave him his first Sunday win of 2014.

Shane van Gisbergen's Tekno Holden was on a charge in the closing stages as he opted for a differing three-stop strategy that gave him good pace at the end.

He passed Nick Percat for fourth and with seven laps to go the Kiwi passed Tander's team-mate James Courtney to take the final podium place.

Points leader Mark Winterbottom again made up for a lowly 12th place grid slot to take sixth in his Ford, but his championship lead had been significantly eaten into.

Craig Lowndes had another miserable race as his Holden's engine started overheating and he lost vast amounts of water.

He continued pitting for water throughout the race to ensure he made it to the finish but the lost points meant he dropped four places over the weekend to sixth in the championship standings.

PosDriverCar no.CarTime/GapLaps
1Jamie Whincup1Holden1h54m24.2583s88
2Garth Tander2Holden0.9616s88
3Shane van Gisbergen97Holden19.9939s88
4James Courtney22Holden20.3357s88
5Nick Percat222Holden21.0419s88
6Mark Winterbottom5Ford26.9148s88
7Chaz Mostert6Ford27.4999s88
8Scott Pye16Ford30.6811s88
9Scott McLaughlin33Volvo36.7411s88
10Will Davison9Mercedes38.4091s88
11Michael Caruso36Nissan38.5167s88
12David Reynolds55Ford44.9368s88
13Tim Slade47Holden50.8930s88
14Fabian Coulthard14Holden51.3950s88
15Lee Holdsworth4Mercedes51.9984s88
16James Moffat360Nissan52.3193s88
17Jason Bright8Holden56.1783s88
18Rick Kelly15Nissan1m03.4298s88
19Todd Kelly7Nissan1 Lap87
20David Wall17Ford1 Lap87
21Russell Ingall23Holden1 Lap87
22Robert Dahlgren34Volvo1 Lap87
23Craig Lowndes888Holden8 Laps80
-Dale Wood21HoldenRetirement0
-Jack Perkins18FordRetirement0
 Earlier V8 story More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Tander leads Holden 1-2 at Townsville
Whincup wins crazy Townsville opener