Find out more about our subscriptions

Townsville V8 Supercars: Garth Tander heads Holden 1-2 in race two

Garth Tander, Holden, Townsville

Holden Racing Team claimed a one-two in the second V8 Supercars race at Townsville as Garth Tander and James Courtney atoned for a disappointing opening encounter.

Both drivers were the victim of contact in a wild opening race but this time Tander won from team-mate Courtney after both capitalised on a mistake from poleman Fabian Coulthard in the second half of the race.

Coulthard held the advantage after the start as Shane van Gisbergen made the best getaway and attacked fourth-placed starter Scott McLaughlin's Volvo, with contact dropping McLaughlin to sixth.

Brad Jones Holden driver Coulthard quickly built up a gap to fellow front-row starter Nick Percat, with van Gisbergen, Will Davison, Craig Lowndes and McLaughlin in close company behind.

McLaughlin dropped out of contention during the pitstops as he was found guilty of speeding in the pitlane and handed a drive-through penalty, while Davison was pinged for making contact with Michael Caruso in the pits, which left the Nissan driver out of the race.

Another driver to lose out during the mandatory stops was Percat, as a delay on the left-rear dropped him to seventh.

On track, Coulthard lost the lead with a wide moment that dropped him behind Tander and Courtney, up from 11th and eighth on the grid respectively.

A safety car for debris gave Coulthard a chance to fight but he ultimately had to settle for third, while van Gisbergen held onto fourth.

Ford's Chaz Mostert put in an excellent performance to climb from 12th to fifth, holding off the top three in the championship - Lowndes, Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom (who started 19th) - in the closing stages.

Results - 44 laps:

Pos Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1. Garth Tander         HRT Holden             57m38.3580s
 2. James Courtney       HRT Holden                 +2.342s
 3. Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden          +4.087s
 4. Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden               +9.081s
 5. Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                   +9.623s
 6. Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden        +9.822s
 7. Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden       +10.334s
 8. Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                  +10.791s
 9. Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden     +12.331s
10. Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden           +12.863s
11. David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford         +15.201s
12. Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford         +16.383s
13. David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford         +20.136s
14. James Moffat         Nissan                    +20.596s
15. Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                 +20.923s
16. Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes           +21.244s
17. Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes           +29.018s
18. Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden         +29.052s
19. Rick Kelly           Nissan                    +36.217s
20. Todd Kelly           Nissan                    +36.491s
21. Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford       +39.377s
22. Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                 +39.799s
23. Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden         +42.043s
    Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden       11 laps
    Michael Caruso       Nissan                      3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Whincup doubles up in race three
Whincup wins crazy Townsville opener