Find out more about our subscriptions

Silverstone GP2: Marciello grabs pole for Racing Engineering

Ferrari protege Raffaele Marciello will start round nine of the GP2 Series at Silverstone from pole position after topping qualifying in his Racing Engineering car on Friday afternoon.

Marciello just beat points leader Jolyon Palmer of DAMS to the four points on offer by just 0.027s in a thrillingly-close session.

The Italian's 1m40.445s was set on the first set of tyres, and few improvements were made after the opening salvoes were fired. Palmer in particular was thwarted by traffic, catching a car in the middle of Becketts on his second run.

Mitch Evans will start third for Russian Time, just 0.006s off Palmer's time and 0.033s off the pole time. Julian Leal of Carlin will start fourth, a further 0.006s off Evans.

Stoffel Vandoorne and Felipe Nasr qualified fifth and sixth respectively, while GP2 debutant Marco Sorensen stunned the paddock by setting the seventh-fastest time for MP Motorsport, equalling Nasr's effort to the thousandth but setting it after the Brazilian.

Stephane Richelmi, Johnny Cecotto Jr and Daniel Abt round out the top 10.

Pos Driver               Team                 Time      Gap
 1. Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering   1m40.445s
 2. Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                 1m40.472s  +0.027
 3. Mitch Evans          Russian Time         1m40.478s  +0.033
 4. Julian Leal          Carlin               1m40.484s  +0.039
 5. Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                  1m40.646s  +0.201
 6. Felipe Nasr          Carlin               1m40.658s  +0.213
 7. Marco Sorensen       MP                   1m40.658s  +0.213
 8. Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                 1m40.762s  +0.317
 9. Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident              1m40.845s  +0.400
10. Daniel Abt           Hilmer               1m40.880s  +0.435
11. Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering   1m40.885s  +0.440
12. Arthur Pic           Campos               1m40.961s  +0.516
13. Simon Trummer        Rapax                1m41.064s  +0.619
14. Rio Haryanto         Caterham             1m41.166s  +0.721
15. Sergio Canamasas     Trident              1m41.196s  +0.751
16. Alexander Rossi      Caterham             1m41.235s  +0.790
17. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                1m41.252s  +0.807
18. Daniel de Jong       MP                   1m41.330s  +0.885
19. Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus              1m41.362s  +0.917
20. Jon Lancaster        Hilmer               1m41.549s  +1.104
21. Conor Daly           Lazarus              1m41.556s  +1.111
22. Kimiya Sato          Campos               1m41.686s  +1.241
23. Andre Negrao         Arden                1m41.908s  +1.463
24. Takuya Izawa         ART                  1m42.003s  +1.558
25. Rene Binder          Arden                1m42.373s  +1.928
26. Artem Markelov       Russian Time         1m42.724s  +2.279

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Nasr wins sprint race for Carlin
Evans scores maiden GP2 victory
Marciello sets GP2 practice pace