Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

WRC Poland: Sebastien Ogier secures commanding win

Sebastien Ogier clinched his fifth win of the 2014 World Rally Championship season by a commanding 1m07.7s margin in Poland, increasing his points lead to 50.

With his Volkswagen team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen's errors and brake problems on Saturday having taken the sting out of what had been a ferocious battle between them, Ogier just had to cruise through Sunday's final four stages, with second-placed Mikkelsen also taking it easy.

The focus of the last morning was Jari-Matti Latvala's attempt to regain ground after the suspension damage that dropped him to seventh on Saturday - though even before that incident he had struggled for pace and conceded defeat as early as Friday morning.

Latvala started the day sixth, quickly took fifth from Juho Hanninen's Hyundai, and then tried to chase down Thierry Neuville and Mikko Hirvonen in third and fourth.

Despite Latvala's extremely determined efforts, he fell seven tenths of a second short of catching Hirvonen, while Neuville pulled himself clear of the M-Sport Ford to secure the second podium for Hyundai's i20 in third.

Neuville had struggled with brake issues early in the rally, then vaulted from 10th to third over the course of Saturday thanks to both his own pace and a variety of incidents ahead. Hanninen had also been third for a while, before losing time with steering concerns.

Latvala could not even get the maximum Powerstage score, as both Ogier and Mikkelsen outpaced him on the bonus points stage on their way to celebrating first and second overall.


Citroen's Kris Meeke and Mads Ostberg were both close behind the VWs until the ruts of Friday's stages in Lithuania spread out the lead pack.

Their podium chances than ended with mistakes on Saturday's long Goldap stage, Ostberg rolling out and Meeke picking up a puncture with a violent detour through a field.

Meeke made it back to seventh place, moving ahead of Hayden Paddon and Henning Solberg on the final morning.

Robert Kubica ran as high as fourth and escaped a Thursday afternoon roll with only a half-minute time loss, but breaking his suspension on Saturday was more costly and left him running down the order under Rally2 for Sunday.

Final positions after SS24:                       
Pos  Driver              Team/Car         Time/Gap
 1.  Sebastien Ogier     VW             2m34.02.0s
 2.  Andreas Mikkelsen   VW               +1m07.7s
 3.  Thierry Neuville    Hyundai          +2m13.5s
 4.  Mikko Hirvonen      M-Sport Ford     +2m32.4s
 5.  Jari-Matti Latvala  VW               +2m33.1s
 6.  Juho Hanninen       Hyundai          +2m45.2s
 7.  Kris Meeke          Citroen          +4m27.9s
 8.  Hayden Paddon       Hyundai          +4m32.1s
 9.  Henning Solberg     Solberg Ford     +4m59.0s
10.  Martin Prokop       Czech Ford       +6m11.3s
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ogier extends Rally Poland lead
Ogier leads tight battle in Poland