Find out more about our subscriptions

Norisring European F3: Felix Rosenqvist snatches last-gasp pole

Felix Rosenqvist, Mucke, Norisring, European F3 2014

Felix Rosenqvist snatched pole position on the very last lap of a thrilling qualifying session for this weekend's opening Formula 3 European Championship race at the Norisring.

The Swede found a chunk of time thanks to finally nailing the final corner, with which he had been having trouble all day, in his Mucke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes.

The lap denied championship leader Esteban Ocon of pole by just three thousandths of a second - the Lotus F1 junior's Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes had languished in the lower reaches of the top 20 halfway through the session, before the Frenchman leapt up the order with a few minutes remaining.

The early pacesetter was Max Verstappen, who sat on pole by three tenths at the mid-point in his Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara-Volkswagen.

He ended up only 11 thousandths adrift of Rosenqvist, citing bad luck with traffic and suggesting that there could be a rethink on tyre pressures before Saturday's opening race.

Rosenqvist was understandably happy with his first pole of the 2014 F3 season.

"In the beginning I was trying to get a slipstream," he said, "but then I decided to go alone and work on my references. I think I made the right decision.

"I don't really enjoy driving this track, but as long as we are quick I don't mind."

Tom Blomqvist was a contender for much of the session, but finally fell two tenths short in the lead Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen to take fourth on the grid.

As well as Rosenqvist, the Mucke team got three drivers in the top six, with Lucas Auer fifth and Roy Nissany - the surprise of the weekend to date - in sixth pace.

Nissany headed a group of eight drivers covered by a tenth of a second, with Carlin's Jake Dennis next, and Gustavo Menezes, Mitch Gilbert and Jordan King completing the top 10.

Highlighting Ocon's performance was the form of his Prema team-mates, with Nicholas Latifi, Antonio Fuoco and Dennis van de Laar down in 11th, 14th and 19th respectively.

The field is so close that 25 of the 26 drivers qualified within a second of pole.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                        Time     Gap
 1.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc              48.082s
 2.  Esteban Ocon         Prema Dallara-Merc              48.085s  +0.003s
 3.  Max Verstappen       Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       48.093s  +0.011s
 4.  Tom Blomqvist        Carlin Dallara-VW               48.262s  +0.180s
 5.  Lucas Auer           Mucke Dallara-Merc              48.321s  +0.239s
 6.  Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc              48.432s  +0.350s
 7.  Jake Dennis          Carlin Dallara-VW               48.437s  +0.355s
 8.  Gustavo Menezes      Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       48.439s  +0.357s
 9.  Mitchell Gilbert     Fortec Dallara-Merc             48.466s  +0.384s
10.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW               48.470s  +0.388s
11.  Nicholas Latifi      Prema Dallara-Merc              48.489s  +0.407s
12.  Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       48.495s  +0.413s
13.  Antonio Giovinazzi   Carlin Dallara-VW               48.509s  +0.427s
14.  Antonio Fuoco        Prema Dallara-Merc              48.576s  +0.494s
15.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-NBE             48.646s  +0.564s
16.  Felix Serralles      West-Tec Dallara-Merc           48.650s  +0.568s
17.  Tatiana Calderon     Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc          48.704s  +0.622s
18.  Sean Gelael          Carlin Dallara-VW               48.797s  +0.715s
19.  Dennis van de Laar   Prema Dallara-Merc              48.835s  +0.753s
20.  Santino Ferrucci     Eurointernational Dallara-Merc  48.838s  +0.756s
21.  Michele Beretta      Eurointernational Dallara-Merc  48.858s  +0.776s
22.  Felipe Guimaraes     Double R Dallara-Merc           48.903s  +0.821s
23.  Sandro Zeller        Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc          48.955s  +0.873s
24.  Alexander Toril      T-Sport Dallara-NBE             48.979s  +0.897s
25.  John Bryant-Meisner  Fortec Dallara-Merc             49.051s  +0.969s
26.  Hector Hurst         West-Tec Dallara-Merc           49.342s  +1.260s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Verstappen seals Norisring treble
Verstappen claims double pole
Verstappen wins again in chaotic race
Verstappen heads Norisring practice