Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 20 stories this month. After 30, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 50 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 30 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 50 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Red Bull Ring GP2: Johnny Cecotto Jr grabs pole in tight session

Johnny Cecotto Jr will start round seven of the GP2 Series from pole position after setting the fastest time in qualifying at the Red Bull Ring on Friday.

As the threatening rain stayed away throughout the session, Trident's Cecotto set his pole time on his first run, although a later effort on his second set of tyres would have been good enough for pole too.

Points leader Jolyon Palmer will start second for DAMS, getting to within 0.04s of Cecotto before spinning at Turn 8 on his second run.

Carlin's Felipe Nasr qualified third, getting to within 0.006s of Palmer's time. The Williams F1 reserve will look back on a last corner moment on his first run that might have cost him a place or two.

Stefano Coletti jumped up to fourth with his final lap, but his Racing Engineering team-mate Raffaele Marciello had the best 'what if?' story, as he was up on Cecotto's pole time at sector two, only to find a Caterham cruising into the pits on the apex of Turn 8, which ruined his line and cost him his pole shot.

The Ferrari protege will start fifth.

McLaren junior Stoffel Vandoorne, who had swapped second with Palmer after the first runs, slipped down the order to sixth as the session wore on.

Arthur Pic, Mitch Evans, Alexander Rossi and Stephane Richelmi round out the top 10.

Practice pacesetter Julian Leal was only 12th fastest.

Pos Driver               Team                  Time       Gap
 1. Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident               1m15.312s         
 2. Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                  1m15.352s  +0.040s
 3. Felipe Nasr          Carlin                1m15.358s  +0.046s
 4. Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering    1m15.443s  +0.131s
 5. Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering    1m15.449s  +0.137s
 6. Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                   1m15.481s  +0.169s
 7. Arthur Pic           Campos                1m15.608s  +0.296s
 8. Mitch Evans          Russian Time          1m15.614s  +0.302s
 9. Alexander Rossi      Caterham              1m15.644s  +0.332s
10. Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                  1m15.664s  +0.352s
11. Andre Negrao         Arden                 1m15.773s  +0.461s
12. Julian Leal          Carlin                1m15.784s  +0.472s
13. Rio Haryanto         Caterham              1m15.811s  +0.499s
14. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                 1m15.927s  +0.615s
15. Tio Ellinas          MP                    1m15.964s  +0.652s
16. Sergio Canamasas     Trident               1m16.034s  +0.722s
17. Takuya Izawa         ART                   1m16.092s  +0.780s
18. Artem Markelov       Russian Time          1m16.136s  +0.824s
19. Daniel Abt           Hilmer                1m16.246s  +0.934s
20. Kimiya Sato          Campos                1m16.274s  +0.962s
21. Rene Binder          Arden                 1m16.331s  +1.019s
22. Daniel de Jong       MP                    1m16.334s  +1.022s
23. Facu Regalia         Hilmer                1m16.497s  +1.185s
24. Simon Trummer        Rapax                 1m16.531s  +1.219s
25. Conor Daly           Lazarus               1m16.539s  +1.227s
26. Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus               1m16.654s  +1.342s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Cecotto wins thrilling sprint race
Nasr wins from third in Austria
Leal sets practice pace in Austria