Find out more about our subscriptions

Ex-Formula 1 driver Jarno Trulli to race for his own Formula E team

Ex-Formula 1 driver Jarno Trulli will race in Formula E with the new team he has formed for the FIA's electric single-seater championship.

AUTOSPORT revealed earlier this month that 2004 Monaco Grand Prix winner Trulli was creating an FE team with the intention of taking Drayson Racing's slot in the field for the inaugural series, although he was initially unsure whether he would also race the car.

FE confirmed on Wednesday that the TrulliGP team would be replacing Drayson, with Trulli revealing that he had decided to go ahead with driving for the outfit as well as managing it.

"Having gained fantastic experience as a driver in Formula 1, my involvement in the FIA Formula E Championship will certainly be a new challenge, not only as a driver but also as a team owner," he said.

Lord Drayson's organisation will remain involved as a partner of Trulli's team, which will begin working with the firm's wireless charging systems.

"I am delighted to be working with such a world-class team of motorsport professionals, led by Jarno," Drayson said.

"I am sure that the combination of the Trulli team's motorsport knowhow and the Drayson EV technology expertise will be a winning one from the start.

"Our ambition is to supply all the teams with wireless charging and we are delighted that TrulliGP is the first team to adopt this exciting technology."

Drivers confirmed so far:

Audi Sport Abt
Lucas di Grassi/Daniel Abt

Virgin Racing
Jaime Alguersuari/Sam Bird

Mahindra Racing
Bruno Senna/Karun Chandhok

Andretti Autosport
Franck Montagny

Jarno Trulli

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT