Find out more about our subscriptions

Moscow WTCC: Ma Qing Hua takes win on maiden WTCC weekend

Ma Qing Hua wins Moscow WTCC race 2014

World Touring Car Championship newcomer Ma Qing Hua achieved a remarkable reversed-grid win on his maiden outing of 2014 at Moscow Raceway.

The former Caterham and HRT Friday practice Formula 1 driver held off a charging performance from team-mate Yvan Muller to take victory by just 1.1 seconds, becoming the first Chinese driver to win in the WTCC.

After suffering a run of reliability troubles that has disrupted his progress over several race weekends earlier this season, Mehdi Bennani claimed his first podium of the season for Proteam Honda.

Polesitter Hugo Valente, who was an innocent party when he was harpooned out of race one by Campos team-mate Dusan Borkovic, appeared in control in the early stages in his patched-up Chevrolet Cruze.

But the Frenchman was handed a drive-through penalty owing to the failure of his team to have his car resting on its wheels before the five-minute board was displayed.

In a furious fight at the front, Ma exchanged positions on at least three occasions with Norbert Michelisz at the final corner.

The pair, second and third on the road, effectively disputed the lead owing to Valente's impending drive-through.

Citroen driver Ma had repeatedly marginally compromised his exit of the last turn, allowing fast-starter Michelisz the opportunity to counter attack, but on lap six Ma successfully secured the lead.

From fifth on the grid, Muller produced an aggressive drive and was in the thick of the action throughout.

After running side-by side with team-mate Sebastien Loeb at the first corner, Muller was sent sideways after receiving a tap - possibly from Bennani. Thereafter, Muller knuckled down to make progress from his opening lap position of ninth.

Muller gained one position when Tiago Monteiro knocked Tom Chilton sideways at Turn 3 and out of seventh, before bullying past two Hondas in one manoeuvre on lap six.

The JAS Honda of Gabriele Tarquini retired with power-steering problems, and team-mate Tiago Monteiro was also forced to park prematurely with apparent technical trouble.

Muller demoted Michelisz from second on lap eight, but despite taking 2.3s out of Ma's lead, the Alsace racer had to be content with second.

The result closes Muller to 41 points behind championship leader Jose Maria Lopez's 209-point tally in the drivers' standings.

Race one winner Lopez posted his first retirement of the season after suffering a gearbox-related problem on the grid.

Results - 16 laps

Pos Driver                Car                Time/Gap
 1. Ma Qing Hua           Citroen            27m11.31s
 2. Yvan Muller           Citroen            +1.261s
 3. Mehdi Bennani         Proteam Honda      +12.252s
 4. Tom Coronel           ROAL Chevrolet     +12.424s
 5. Sebastien Loeb        Citroen            +14.725s
 6. Tom Chilton           ROAL Chevrolet     +14.890s
 7. Norbert Michelisz     Zengo Honda        +15.118s
 8. Gianni Morbidelli     Munnich Chevrolet  +19.894s
 9. Hugo Valente          Campos Chevrolet   +20.157s
10. Rene Munnich          Munnich Chevrolet  +20.984s
11. Dusan Borkovic        Campos Chevrolet   +26.813s
12. James Thompson        Lada               +31.686s
13. Franz Engstler        Engstler BMW       +1m03.478s*
14. Pasquale Di Sabatino  Engstler BMW       +1m15.843s*
15. John Filippi          Campos SEAT        -1 lap*
16. Nikita Misiulia       Campos SEAT        -1 lap*

Not classified/retirements Tiago Monteiro Honda 11 laps Rob Huff Lada 10 laps Gabriele Tarquini Honda 7 laps Jose Maria Lopez Citroen 0 laps Mikhail Kozlovskiy Lada 0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Lopez in control in first Moscow race
Lopez secures third WTCC pole of '14
Muller quickest in Moscow practice