Find out more about our subscriptions

Texas IndyCar: Tony Kanaan leads all-Ganassi practice top three

Tony Kanaan and Sebastian Saavedra, Texas IndyCar 2014

Tony Kanaan led a Ganassi 1-2-3 in the opening practice session for this weekend's IndyCar race at Texas Motor Speedway.

With just a few minutes left on the clock, Kanaan leaned on his second set of tyres to deliver a 23.8762-second and 219.382mph lap, putting himself well clear of team-mate and fellow late-improver Scott Dixon's 218.321mph.

Ryan Briscoe completed the 1-2-3 sweep with a 217.763mph lap that he set right at the beginning of the session, keeping the Australian on top for more than an hour before Kanaan finally unseated him.

Marco Andretti spent most of the session camped in second, but although he also improved on his second set, he did not find the same gains as the Ganassi drivers and eventually finished up fourth-fastest ahead of last year's race-winner Helio Castroneves.

The 75-minute session was completed almost entirely without incident, with all three of the brief caution periods that punctuated the morning being instigated for track inspections.

This was the only practice session before the drivers head back out to qualify later on Friday afternoon, with a second practice session scheduled for the evening to allow for fine-tuning ahead of Saturday night's race.

Pos  Driver              Team/Engine      Time      Gap       Speed
 1.  Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy    23.8762s            219.382
 2.  Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy    23.9922s  +0.1160s  218.321
 3.  Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy    24.0537s  +0.1775s  217.763
 4.  Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda   24.0745s  +0.1983s  217.575
 5.  Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     24.0796s  +0.2034s  217.529
 6.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy     24.1280s  +0.2518s  217.092
 7.  Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda      24.2149s  +0.3387s  216.313
 8.  Ed Carpenter        Carpenter/Chevy  24.2356s  +0.3594s  216.128
 9.  Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      24.2409s  +0.3647s  216.081
10.  Will Power          Penske/Chevy     24.2584s  +0.3822s  215.925
11.  Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      24.2889s  +0.4127s  215.654
12.  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda   24.2975s  +0.4213s  215.578
13.  Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda   24.3254s  +0.4492s  215.330
14.  James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda   24.4138s  +0.5376s  214.551
15.  Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda      24.4563s  +0.5801s  214.178
16.  Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    24.4673s  +0.5911s  214.082
17.  Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       24.4952s  +0.619 s  213.838
18.  Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy         24.5443s  +0.6681s  213.410
19.  Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy    24.5738s  +0.6976s  213.154
20.  Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     24.6023s  +0.7261s  212.907
21.  Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy         24.7048s  +0.8286s  212.024
22.  Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda    24.7132s  +0.8370s  211.952

All drivers use Dallara chassis
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Carpenter: No rush to add second car
Carpenter takes Texas victory
Dixon leads Texas night session
Power tops tough Texas qualifying