Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring European F3: Tom Blomqvist charges to race one win

Tom Blomqvist took a commanding win in the first Formula 3 European Championship race of the weekend at the Hungaroring.

The Carlin driver took over the lead from polesitter Esteban Ocon on the run down to the first corner, and while Ocon was able to shadow Blomqvist for the first half a dozen laps, the Briton put in a series of quick laps mid-way through the race to stretch the gap out to more than five seconds.

That proved to be sufficient to produce a comfortable win, the final margin back to second-placed Ocon being 4.8 seconds at the finish.

Felix Rosenqvist finished third after a quiet race, having inherited the final spot on the podium from Max Verstappen six laps into proceedings when the Dutchman was sidelined with a mechanical problem.

Rosenqvist's Mucke team-mate Lucas Auer did make a late play for third, closing to within a second several laps from the end, but Rosenqvist was able to manage the gap and keep the Austrian off the podium.

Ruffling feathers on the F1 ladder

Jordan King finished fifth for Carlin, ahead of Jules Szymkowiak, who recorded his best finish in European F3 by some margin.

However, Szymkowiak did have some help in the latter stages when Antonio Fuoco and Gustavo Menezes, who had been running sixth and seventh respectively, were handed drive-through penalties for exceeding track limits.

Fuoco, who made a poor getaway from fourth on the grid, wound up having to take two trips down the pitlane, picking up a second penalty for crossing the white line when re-joining the track after serving the first and finished 19th.

Felix Serralles and Dennis van de Laar also benefited from Fuoco and Menezes being penalised, finishing seventh and eighth, while Mitchell Gilbert and Sean Gelael rounded out the points-paying positions.

Jake Dennis, meanwhile, finished 11th, just one position short of scoring a point after starting at the back of the grid thanks to a driveshaft failure in Friday's qualifying session.

Follow the second Hungaroring Euro F3 qualifying session as it happens on AUTOSPORT Race Centre Live from approximately 3:15pm UK time on Saturday

Results - 21 laps:                                                   
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                           Time/Gap
 1.  Tom Blomqvist        Carlin Dallara-VW                          
 2.  Esteban Ocon         Prema Dallara-Mercedes              +4.897s
 3.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Mercedes             +13.180s
 4.  Lucas Auer           Mucke Dallara-Mercedes             +14.517s
 5.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW                  +17.592s
 6.  Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW           +34.332s
 7.  Felix Serralles      West-Tec Dallara Mercedes          +36.090s
 8.  Dennis van de Laar   Prema Dallara-Mercedes             +39.033s
 9.  Mitch Gilbert        Fortec Dallara-Mercedes            +42.057s
10.  Sean Gelael          Carlin Dallara-VW                  +42.765s
11.  Jake Dennis          Carlin Dallara-VW                  +43.241s
12.  Alexander Toril      T-Sport Dallara-NBE                +44.817s
13.  Felipe Guimares      Double R Dallara-Mercedes          +46.140s
14.  John Bryant-Meisner  0Fortec Dallara-Mercedes           +49.346s
15.  Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Mercedes             +49.986s
16.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-NBE                +51.521s
17.  Gustavo Menezes      Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW           +55.888s
18.  Hector Hurst         West-Tec Dallara Mercedes        +1m05.790s
19.  Antonio Fuoco        Prema Dallara-Mercedes           +1m06.397s
20.  Tatiana Calderon     Zeller Dallara-Mercedes          +1m19.632s
21.  Sandro Zeller        Zeller Dallara-Mercedes          +1m24.898s
22.  Nicholas Latifi      Prema Dallara-Mercedes           +1m35.591s
23.  Antonio Giovinazzi   Carlin Dallara-VW                   +2 laps
     Max Verstappen      Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW              6 laps
     Michele Beretta     EuroInternational Dallara-Mercedes    0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Ocon wins rain-affected race three
Ocon dominates Hungaroring race two
Ocon makes it three poles in Hungary
Ocon beats Blomqvist to pole
Ocon tops Hungaroring practice