Find out more about our subscriptions

Detroit IndyCar: Ryan Hunter-Reay heads first practice

Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay opened this weekend's IndyCar double-header in Detroit by going fastest in Friday's first practice session on the streets of Belle Isle.

The Andretti driver was in the mix right through the session, and eventually claimed the top spot with a best lap of 1m18.8595s.

Justin Wilson leapt up to second fastest at the last moment with a time 0.0221s down on Hunter-Reay's, leaving Helio Castroneves just behind him.

Simon Pagenaud and Tony Kanaan both made late improvements to complete the top five, the pair squeezing in just ahead of last year's surprise winner Mike Conway, who had been the session leader just a minute or two earlier.

It was a quiet start to the weekend for some of the series' traditional frontrunners: Will Power and reigning champion Scott Dixon both finished the morning well outside the top 10, while Juan Pablo Montoya completed just 13 laps on his way to 22nd.

Despite some very loose cars and some spectacular catches - most notably one by Graham Rahal, who managed to gather up a particularly lurid slide five minutes from the end without hitting anything - the session was completed incident-free.

Pos  Driver              Team/Engine      Time       Gap       Laps
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda   1m18.8595s            36
 2.  Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      1m18.8816s  +0.0221s  31
 3.  Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     1m18.8977s  +0.0382s  49
 4.  Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    1m19.1652s  +0.3057s  12
 5.  Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy    1m19.2083s  +0.3488s  45
 6.  Mike Conway         Carpenter/Chevy  1m19.2454s  +0.3858s  52
 7.  Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy    1m19.3029s  +0.4434s  61
 8.  James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda   1m19.3325s  +0.4730s  41
 9.  Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      1m19.4933s  +0.6338s  31
10.  Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy    1m19.7035s  +0.8440s  41
11.  Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda   1m19.7299s  +0.8704s  30
12.  Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy         1m19.7931s  +0.9336s  55
13.  Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda      1m19.8421s  +0.9826s  42
14.  Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy    1m19.8807s  +1.0212s  21
15.  Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda   1m20.0602s  +1.2007s  30
16.  Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       1m20.1145s  +1.2550s  18
17.  Will Power          Penske/Chevy     1m20.1190s  +1.2595s  47
18.  Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda    1m20.1811s  +1.3216s  28
19.  Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     1m20.2621s  +1.4026s  42
20.  Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy         1m20.4368s  +1.5773s  41
21.  Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda      1m20.7621s  +1.9026s  43
22.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy     1m20.9527s  +2.0932s  59
All drivers use Dallara chassis                             
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Sato secures Detroit pole for Foyt
Power beats Rahal to Detroit victory
Castroneves on pole for race one
Pagenaud ends Friday on top