Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring European F3: Esteban Ocon sets practice pace

Esteban Ocon comfortably topped practice as the fourth round of the Formula 3 European Championship got underway at Hungaroring.

The Prema driver was on top for the majority of the 80 minutes of running, constantly lowering the fastest time with a flurry of quick laps at the end, the best of which was a 1m35.801s inside the last 10 minutes.

That time was enough to keep him more than two tenths clear of Mucke's Felix Rosenqvist, who had languished mid-table until jumping to second with a 1m36.026s effort eight minutes from time.

Like the two ahead of him, Antonio Fuoco did his best work late in the session, a 1m36.329s lap earning him third, ahead of Briton Tom Blomqvist, who was the best of the Carlin drivers in fourth.

Max Verstappen was fifth fastest for Van Amersfoort, having been third at the 40-minute mark, while his team-mate Gustavo Menezes was sixth fastest, ahead of Carlin pair Jordan King and Antonio Giovinazzi.

Dennis van de Laar and Sean Gelael were ninth and 10th.

Lucas Auer, meanwhile, missed more than half of the session after a clash with Gelael, and wound up with just the 23rd best time overall.

Pos Driver               Car                                 Time       Gap    Laps
 1. Esteban Ocon         Prema Dallara-Mercedes              1m35.801s           20
 2. Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Mercedes              1m36.025s  +0.224s  18
 3. Antonio Fuoco        Prema Dallara-Mercedes              1m36.329s  +0.528s  18
 4. Tom Blomqvist        Carlin Dallara-VW                   1m36.472s  +0.671s  18
 5. Max Verstappen       Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW            1m36.522s  +0.721s  20
 6. Gustavo Menezes      Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW            1m36.584s  +0.783s  20
 7. Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW                   1m36.612s  +0.811s  20
 8. Antonio Giovinazzi   Carlin Dallara-VW                   1m36.620s  +0.819s  19
 9. Dennis van de Laar   Prema Dallara-Mercedes              1m36.632s  +0.831s  19
10. Sean Gelael          Carlin Dallara-VW                   1m36.932s  +1.131s  19
11. Felix Serralles      West-Tec Dallara Mercedes           1m37.089s  +1.288s  20
12. Tatiana Calderon     Jo Zeller Dallara-Mercedes          1m37.194s  +1.393s  20
13. Jake Dennis          Carlin Dallara-VW                   1m37.248s  +1.447s  15
14. Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Mercedes              1m37.332s  +1.531s  20
15. Mitch Gilbert        Fortec Dallara-Mercedes             1m37.345s  +1.544s  22
16. Alexander Toril      T-Sport Dallara-NBE                 1m37.601s  +1.800s  19
17. Nicholas Latifi      Prema Dallara-Mercedes              1m37.613s  +1.812s  19
18. Felipe Guimares      Double R Dallara-Mercedes           1m37.646s  +1.845s  19
19. John Bryant-Meisner  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes             1m37.648s  +1.847s  20
20. Hector Hurst         West-Tec Dallara Mercedes           1m37.648s  +1.847s  18
21. Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW            1m37.732s  +1.931s  19
22. Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-NBE                 1m38.095s  +2.294s  19
23. Sandro Zeller        Zeller                              1m38.800s  +2.999s  19
24. Michele Beretta      EuroInternational Dallara-Mercedes  1m38.919s  +3.118s  20
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ocon wins rain-affected race three
Ocon dominates Hungaroring race two
Ocon makes it three poles in Hungary
Blomqvist charges to race one victory
Ocon beats Blomqvist to pole