Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Lydden World Rallycross: Bakkerud wins, Jordan takes podium

Andreas Bakkerud, Lydden World Rallycross 2014

Andreas Bakkerud swept to victory in the second round of the World Rallycross Championship, the AUTOSPORT World RX of Great Britain at Lydden Hill.

The Norwegian had topped the order at the end of day one, qualified first at the Intermediate Classification and then won a final in which British Touring Car champion Andrew Jordan starred on his rallycross return.

Bakkerud started on the outside of the front row, alongside Toomas Heikkinen, but it was second row starter Robin Larsson who made the best start to lead after the first corner, ahead of Heikkinen and Petter Solberg.

Behind them, Bakkerud led Jordan and Tanner Foust into the joker lap.

Solberg took his joker lap on the second tour, returning to the main circuit just behind Foust.

As the pair entered the next corner, Solberg made a move up the inside of the American only to make contact with the VW Polo and spin into the gravel.

Jordan followed Heikkinen before making a move past the Finn at the hairpin on lap three to take third.

Bakkerud, running in clear air after his early joker, caught Heikkinen and replicated Jordan's move on the VW man into the hairpin on lap five.

Leader Larsson left his joker until the final lap, coming out side-by-side with Bakkerud but unable to regain the lead, settling for an impressive second on his international Supercar debut.

Jordan finished third with Heikkinen fourth and Foust fifth. Solberg recovered to finish sixth.

Andreas Bakkerud wins Lydden World Rallycross 2014

"We might not have been fastest all weekend, but we controlled what we were doing and managed the car and tyres, we were the only car with brand new tyres in the final," said Bakkerud.

"I grew up in these rallycross paddocks so to win only the second round of the world championship is amazing."

Renis Nitiss almost made it three OlsbergsMSE Ford Fiestas in the final but for an electrical problem after winning his semi. The Latvian's non-start promoted Foust into the final.

Andy Scott put problems in Portugal behind him to finish his semi final in fifth position.

Team Peugeot-Hansen had a poor day, both Peugeot 208s of Timur Timerzyanov and Timmy Hansen retiring with engine problems.

Supercar final result:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car           Time/Gap
 1.  Andreas Bakkerud  OlsbergsMSE Ford  4m25.428s
 2.  Robin Larsson     Larsson Audi        +0.541s
 3.  Andrew Jordan     OlsbergsMSE Ford    +1.389s
 4.  Toomas Heikkinen  Marklund VW         +6.370s
 5.  Tanner Foust      Marklund VW        +10.075s
 6.  Petter Solberg    PS Citroen         +12.457s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Bakkerud holds AUTOSPORT RX lead