Find out more about our subscriptions

Le Mans MotoGP: Marc Marquez comes back from 10th place to win

Marc Marquez, Le Mans MotoGP 2014

Marc Marquez came back from 10th place to maintain his 2014 MotoGP unbeaten run with win number five in the French Grand Prix at Le Mans.

Marquez made a poor start from pole position and then became embroiled in a mid-pack traffic jam further around the opening lap, having to go wide to dodge the dicing Pol Espargaro and Jorge Lorenzo.

That left the championship leader's Honda down in 10th, but he needed just 13 of the 28 laps to scorch back through the field.

Andrea Dovizioso led initially on his Ducati before fading down the order, with Valentino Rossi then taking control for Yamaha for a spell.

Once Marquez reached second place it was only a matter of time before Rossi had to relinquish the lead, and the seven-time champion made it easier than expected when he ran wide and let the Honda slip through.

Marquez's Le Mans victory makes him the first man since Mick Doohan in the 1997 500cc championship to take five poles and five wins in a row in the top class.

Rossi fell nearly four seconds behind before Marquez's laidback final lap pace reduced that gap.

The Italian's second place was briefly under threat from Alvaro Bautista as the Gresini Honda rider surged forward in the second half of the race.

In the end Bautista's focus had to be on defending third - and his first podium finish since October 2012 - as Pol Espargaro and Dani Pedrosa closed in.

It was another poor race for Lorenzo. He climbed from an initial eighth to fifth before falling behind Pedrosa and finishing a lonely sixth.

Stefan Bradl was a podium challenger for much of the race but fell back to seventh, while Dovizioso halted his slide in eighth place, beating Aleix Espargaro and Bradley Smith to the flag.

After his impressive start to the weekend on Friday, Andrea Iannone's grand prix was short and messy.

He collided with Nicky Hayden on the first lap, causing the American to crash out, and then fell by himself while grappling with boot damage from the side-on impact with the Aspar Honda.

Results - 28 laps:

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike               Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 44m03.925s
 2.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                   +1.486s
 3.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda            +3.144s
 4.  Pol Espargaro     Tech 3 Yamaha            +3.717s
 5.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                    +4.077s
 6.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                   +7.088s
 7.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda               +11.527s
 8.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                  +22.103s
 9.  Aleix Espargaro   Forward Yamaha          +22.626s
10.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha           +23.108s
11.  Cal Crutchlow     Ducati                  +25.780s
12.  Scott Redding     Gresini Honda           +39.523s
13.  Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati           +42.544s
14.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Aspar Honda             +42.736s
15.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Honda           +56.644s
16.  Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia           +1m14.123s
17.  Colin Edwards     Forward Yamaha        +1m19.723s
18.  Broc Parkes       PBM Aprilia           +1m30.934s
19.  Mike di Meglio    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m34.521s


     Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati              1 lap
     Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki       1 lap
     Nicky Hayden      Aspar Honda               0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez untouchable in qualifying