Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

NASCAR All-Star: Ganassi's Jamie McMurray wins $1 million race

Jamie McMurray wins NASCAR All-Star 2014

Jamie McMurray took Ganassi's first NASCAR victory of 2014 by winning the non-championship $1 million All-Star race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Generally changing only two tyres in the pitstops between the race's five segments kept McMurray towards the front for most of the distance, even though rivals with four new tyres kept shuffling him back.

With average positions from the first four segments setting the order prior to the compulsory four-tyre stops in the final break, McMurray emerged from the pits for the last time second behind Carl Edwards.

The pair banged doors repeatedly when the final 10-lap shootout got underway, before McMurray managed to get into the lead around the outside and then pull away.

Kevin Harvick, who had led after segment four, tried to hunt McMurray down once he had escaped from his own battle with Edwards but fell 0.696 seconds short.

Polesitter Edwards slipped back to fifth behind Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The drivers who topped the opening segments hit trouble later.

Segment one top dog Kyle Busch made contact with Clint Bowyer early in segment two. As Bowyer's Toyota fishtailed, it clipped Busch into a spin, with Joey Logano then violently collecting the Joe Gibbs Toyota as it bounced back off the outside wall.

Kasey Kahne led at the end of both segments two and three, then wrecked his chances by clouting the wall in the fourth part.

Accidents also accounted for AJ Allmendinger, who spun into the inside wall after contact with Brian Vickers, and Jeff Gordon - who took Martin Truex Jr and Greg Biffle out with him when something went awry at the front of his Chevrolet in segment four.

Results - 90 laps:

Pos  Driver             Team/Car                     Time/Gap
 1.  Jamie McMurray     Ganassi Chevrolet        1h20m35.000s
 2.  Kevin Harvick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +0.696s
 3.  Matt Kenseth       Joe Gibbs Toyota              +1.154s
 4.  Dale Earnhardt Jr  Hendrick Chevrolet            +2.695s
 5.  Carl Edwards       Roush Fenway Ford             +3.859s
 6.  Jimmie Johnson     Hendrick Chevrolet            +4.120s
 7.  Clint Bowyer       Waltrip Toyota                +4.405s
 8.  Brian Vickers      Waltrip Toyota                +5.029s
 9.  Denny Hamlin       Joe Gibbs Toyota              +5.298s
10.  Brad Keselowski    Penske Ford                   +5.810s
11.  Kurt Busch         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +6.268s
12.  Tony Stewart       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +7.540s
13.  David Ragan        Front Row Ford                +9.747s
14.  Kasey Kahne        Hendrick Chevrolet           +10.060s
15.  Josh Wise          Parsons Ford                 +13.004s


     Ryan Newman        Childress Chevrolet           77 laps
     Jeff Gordon        Hendrick Chevrolet            60 laps
     Martin Truex Jr    Furniture Row Chevrolet       60 laps
     Greg Biffle        Roush Fenway Ford             60 laps
     AJ Allmendinger    JTG Daugherty Chevrolet       30 laps
     Kyle Busch         Joe Gibbs Toyota              25 laps
     Joey Logano        Penske Ford                   25 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Bowyer wins Showdown race