Find out more about our subscriptions

Brands Hatch Blancpain: Laurens Vanthoor puts WRT Audi on pole

WRT Audi, Brands Hatch Blancpain 2014

WRT Audi driver Laurens Vanthoor snatched pole position for the first of Sunday's two Blancpain Sprint Series races at Brands Hatch.

Vanthoor, who shares his Audi R8 LMS ultra in the two one-hour races with Brazilian Cesar Ramos, completed a 1m23.865s pole lap after the chequered flag had fallen at the end of the 10-minute Superpole session.

The Belgian's lap eclipsed Maximilian Gotz's best in the fastest of the two HTP Motorsport Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG by just 0.022 seconds.

Vanthoor said: "The best lap on the tyres should be the first, but I went wide at Turn 5 [Hawthorn] and my tyres were dirty for Turn 6 [Westfield].

"On my second lap I went wide on the last corner, but on this track you can gain a lot by pushing hard and taking risks - and luckily it worked out for me on my last lap."

Jeroen Bleekemolen took third place in his Grasser Lamborghini Gallardo FLII with a time five hundredths behind Gotz.

Markus Winkelhock was fourth in the best of the Phoenix Audis, with Valdeno Brito fifth in the fastest of the BMW Team Brazil entries.

Alex Zanardi took sixth in his ROAL Motorsport BMW Z4.

Leading qualifying positions:

Pos  Drivers                  Team/Car             Time       Gap
 1.  Ramos/Vanthoor           WRT Audi             1m23.865s
 2.  Buhk/Gotz                HTP Mercedes         1m23.887s  +0.022s
 3.  Proczyk/Bleekemolen      Grasser Lamborghini  1m23.984s  +0.119s
 4.  Mayr-Melnhof/Winkelhock  Phoenix Audi         1m24.108s  +0.243s
 5.  Stumpf/Brito             Brazil BMW           1m24.254s  +0.389s
 6.  Alex Zanardi             ROAL BMW             1m24.377s  +0.512s
 7.  Jimenez/Bueno            Brazil BMW           1m24.415s  +0.550s
 8.  Ide/Rast                 WRT Audi             1m24.424s  +0.559s
 9.  Salaquarda/Montermini    Villorba Ferrari     1m24.438s  +0.573s
10.  Colombo/Fumanelli        ROAL BMW             1m24.807s  +0.942s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Bleekemolen/Proczyk win main race
Grasser Lambo wins Brands opener