Find out more about our subscriptions

Barcelona GP2: Stephane Richelmi leads all-DAMS front row

Stephane Richelmi claimed pole position for Saturday's main race in the second round of the GP2 Series in Spain, ahead of DAMS team-mate Jolyon Palmer.

The 24-year-old was quick out of the blocks and set a time of 1m29.293s on his second lap of the session, and despite the best efforts of practice pacesetter Palmer, remained unbeaten until the end.

Racing Engineering duo Stefano Coletti and Raffaele Marciello occupy the second row of the grid after they shot up the timesheets in the final moments of the session.

Felipe Nasr had sat comfortably in third position up until they improved, but the Williams Formula 1 reserve driver had to settle for fifth with a time just 0.005s quicker than Russian Time's Mitch Evans.

Fourth-season driver Julian Leal starts seventh, with Alexander Rossi alongside him on row four, while GP2 debutant Tio Ellinas managed to claim ninth, ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne.

The McLaren protege sat out the first ten minutes of the session as ART opted to run the Belgian while the majority of the field returned to the pits after their first runs.

While he had the track to himself, he could only muster a provisional sixth with a 1m29.963s, which eventually became 10th after everyone's late laps.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap     Laps
 1.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                1m29.293s           10 
 2.  Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                1m29.421s  +0.128s  9  
 3.  Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering  1m29.514s  +0.221s  10 
 4.  Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering  1m29.650s  +0.357s  10 
 5.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              1m29.698s  +0.405s  11 
 6.  Mitch Evans          Russian Time        1m29.703s  +0.410s  9  
 7.  Julian Leal          Carlin              1m28.841s  +0.452s  11 
 8.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham            1m29.893s  +0.600s  11 
 9.  Tio Ellinas          MP                  1m29.902s  +0.609s  11 
10.  Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                 1m29.963s  +0.670s  11 
11.  Rio Haryanto         Caterham            1m29.983s  +0.690s  11 
12.  Tom Dillmann         Arden               1m30.289s  +0.996s  10 
13.  Arthur Pic           Campos              1m30.300s  +1.007s  11 
14.  Daniel Abt           Hilmer              1m30.412s  +1.119s  11 
15.  Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus             1m30.470s  +1.177s  9  
16.  Johnny Cecotto       Trident             1m30.496s  +1.203s  11 
17.  Kimiya Sato          Campos              1m30.510s  +1.217s  11 
18.  Rene Binder          Arden               1m30.553s  +1.260s  11 
19.  Daniel de Jong       MP                  1m30.617s  +1.324s  9  
20.  Sergio Canamasas     Trident             1m30.737s  +1.444s  11 
21.  Facu Regalia         Hilmer              1m30.790s  +1.497s  11 
22.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax               1m30.884s  +1.591s  11 
23.  Takuya Izawa         ART                 1m30.903s  +1.610s  11 
24.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               1m30.923s  +1.630s  13 
25.  Artem Markelov       Russian Time        1m31.336s  +2.043s  12 
26.  Conor Daly           Lazarus             1m31.558s  +2.265s  9  
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Palmer quickest in Barcelona practice