Find out more about our subscriptions

Thruxton BTCC: Andrew Jordan claims victory in race one

Thruxton BTCC 2014

Andrew Jordan won the first British Touring Car Championship race at Thruxton, despite a surprise early challenge from Mat Jackson.

Jordan made a good start from pole and the Eurotech Honda Civic led comfortably into the first corner.

But behind, Jackson was in a feisty mood. His Motorbase Ford Focus forged by Gordon Shedden and then overtook the other Honda Civic Tourer of Matt Neal in the complex.

He charged up to the back of Jordan, putting the reigning champion under intense pressure for the first three laps.

Jordan held his nerve before setting new fastest times on laps four and five.

Jackson then slipped back towards the works Hondas. After several attacks, Neal dived down the inside into Campbell and completed the move at Segrave around half-distance.

Shedden followed him through and the duo pulled clear to complete a Honda 1-2-3, though Jordan was always out of reach.

Despite falling back, Jackson finished well clear of a fine battle for fifth.

Rob Collard's WSR BMW jumped into the spot off the line and the held off a pack that ultimately included Jason Plato's MG6, the VW Passat of Alain Menu, Colin Turkington's BMW (up from 13th on the grid) and Adam Morgan's Mercedes. At the flag, just over a second covered all five cars.

Jordan's win, despite carrying 36kg of success ballast, moves him clear of Plato at the top of the championship table.

Results - 16 laps

Pos Driver               Car                  Time/Gap
 1. Andrew Jordan        Eurotech Honda       21m03.891s
 2. Matt Neal            Honda                 +1.283s
 3. Gordon Shedden       Honda                 +2.760s
 4. Mat Jackson          Motorbase Ford        +7.304s
 5. Rob Collard          WSR BMW               +10.467s
 6. Jason Plato          MG                    +10.623s
 7. Alain Menu           BMR VW                +10.796s
 8. Colin Turkington     WSR BMW               +11.309s
 9. Adam Morgan          Ciceley Mercedes      +11.496s
10. Sam Tordoff          MG                    +12.848s
11. Jack Goff            BMR Vauxhall          +15.988s
12. Fabrizio Giovanardi  Motorbase Ford        +16.782s
13. Tom Ingram           Speedworks Toyota     +22.545s
14. Nick Foster          WSR BMW               +28.063s
15. Glynn Geddie         UA Toyota             +28.627s
16. Marc Hynes           MG                    +29.134s
17. Rob Austin           RAR Audi              +29.932s
18. Lea Wood             Houseman Toyota       +30.213s
19. Jack Clarke          Motorbase Ford        +35.814s
20. Aiden Moffat         Moffat Chevrolet      +39.081s
21. Daniel Welch         Welch Proton          +43.023s
22. Aron Smith           BMR VW                +54.458s
23. Ollie Jackson        Welch Proton          +1m13.961s
24. Hunter Abbott        RAR Audi              +1 lap
25. Martin Depper        Eurotech Honda        +1 lap
26. Dave Newsham         AmD Ford              +2 laps

Retirement/not classified

Simon Belcher Handy Toyota 8 laps James Cole UA Toyota 3 laps Warren Scott BMR Vauxhall 3 laps Chris Stockton BTC Chevrolet 0 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Shedden, Austin hit with penalties
Turkington wins dramatic race three
Shedden beats Jordan in race two
Jordan continues Thruxton pole run
Jordan dominates Thruxton practice