Find out more about our subscriptions

World Rallycross Montalegre: Peugeot's Timerzyanov's win reinstated

Timur Timerzyanov, Hansen Peugeot, Montalegre World Rallycross 2014

Timur Timerzyanov has been reinstated in the results table at the first World Rallycross Championship round after his heat two disqualification was overturned by the stewards.

The decision puts the reigning European champion, who drives for the Kenneth Hansen-run factory Peugeot team, back on top of the intermediate order overnight.

Timerzyanov had been disqualified from the heat two results following first corner contact with Petter Solberg.

Initially deemed to be Timerzyanov's fault, the incident was reassessed as a 'racing incident' and stewards instead gave Timerzyanov a warning.

"As I explained to the stewards, Timur isn't the sort of driver to drive into people like that," said Hansen.

"We have brought this project together in a short time. It's great that we are on top after two heats with Timur, today is a big victory for us."

Solberg failed to finish heat two due to a broken throttle cable.

The decision means that Timerzyanov moves back to the top of the order, which is slightly reshuffled behind as heat points are re-allocated following the stewards' decision.

Standings after heat two:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car
 1.  Timur Timerzyanov    Hansen Peugeot
 2.  Andreas Bakkerud     Olsbergs Ford
 3.  Reinis Nitiss        Olsbergs Ford
 4.  Topi Heikkinen       Marklund VW
 5.  Anton Marklund       Marklund VW
 6.  Koen Pauwels         Pauwels Ford
 7.  Alexander Hvaal      Solberg Citroen
 8.  Andy Scott           Albatec Peugeot
 9.  Alexandre Theuil     Theuil Citroen
10.  Petter Solberg       Solberg Citroen
11.  Timmy Hansen         Hansen Peugeot
12.  Jos Jansen           Jansen Ford
13.  Derek Tohill         LD Citroen
14.  Ramona Karlsson      Eklund Saab
15.  Jacques Villeneuve   Albatec Peugeot
16.  Bohdan Ludwiczak     Ludwiczak Ford
17.  Joaquim Santos       Santos Ford
18.  Krzysztof Skorupski  Monster Citroen
19.  Liam Doran           Monster Citroen
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Solberg wins World Rallycross opener
Nitiss top as new World RX era begins