Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

World Rallycross Montalegre: Nitiss holds surprise overnight lead

Reinis Nitiss, Olsbergs Ford, Montalegre World Rallycross 2014

Supercar debutant Reinis Nitiss heads the order after the first two heats at round one of the World Rallycross Championship at Montalegre in Portugal.

Nitiss' OlsbergsMSE team-mate Andreas Bakkerud is second overnight ahead of the Marklund Motorsport pairing of Topi Heikkinen and Anton Marklund.

Reigning European champion Timur Timerzyanov was fastest in heat one in the barely tested Hansen-run Peugeot 208.

He went quickest again in heat two, but was disqualified following first corner contact with Petter Solberg that put the former World Rally champion out of the race.

NEWS UPDATE: Timerzyanov reinstated by stewards

That left Nitiss on top overnight, to his surprise and delight.

"This is unbelievable. Really, really unbelievable," said Nitiss. "We have done some good testing, but the speed of these cars still surprises me, everything happens a lot faster than in Super1600.

"I can't believe that we are fastest, but it shows that when the car is good we can do well, and the car is really good."

Jacques Villeneuve got caught up in traffic in his first heat race, and was then slowed to a crawl in heat two with a puncture.

The Canadian sits 14th overnight and will need to climb at least two places by the end of heat four to qualify for the semi-finals.

Villeneuve's Albatec team-mate Andy Scott had a good day despite a broken exhaust in heat one. He sits seventh overall heading into day two.

Koen Pauwels provided the surprise of the day, a pair of constant heat times putting the Belgian driver fifth overall.

Brit Liam Doran had a frustrating day, not even starting a race with technical troubles before heat one and missing the start of his second heat.

Russian rallycross newcomer Nikita Misyulya heads the order in Super1600. Ulrik Linnemann would have been top, but although fastest in both heats he was given a penalty in heat one for missing the joker lap.

Volvo C30 driver Daniel Lundh is top in TouringCar, while Sebastien Eriksson was fastest in RX Lites.

NEWS UPDATE: Timerzyanov reinstated by stewards

Overnight standings:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car
 1.  Reinis Nitiss     Olsbergs Ford
 2.  Andreas Bakkerud  Olsbergs Ford
 3.  Topi Heikkinen    Marklund VW
 4.  Anton Marklund    Marklund VW
 5.  Koen Pauwels      Pauwels Ford
 6.  Alexander Hvaal   Solberg Citroen
 7.  Andy Scott        Albatec Peugeot
 8.  Alexander Theuil  Theuil Citroen
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Solberg wins World Rallycross opener
Timerzyanov's RX heat win reinstated