Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim European F3: Lucas Auer cruises to race one win

Lucas Auer took a comfortable win in the first Formula 3 European Championship race of the weekend at Hockenheim, while rookie sensation Max Verstappen crashed out on the first lap.

Auer's win was straightforward, the Mucke Motorsport driver leading all 22 laps on his way to a 7.1s win over Carlin duo Ed Jones and Jordan King.

The majority of the race's action occurred on the first lap.

Having made a bad start from fourth on the grid, Verstappen (Van Amersfoort) came into the hairpin too hot, crashing into the side of Prema's Nicholas Latifi, ending both drivers' race.

Front-row starter Antonio Giovanazzi was another to be caught out by the first-lap action and retire from the race, resulting in a short safety car period.

When the race resumed at the start of lap 3, the top three quickly settled into a rhythm, Auer leading Jones and Estaban Ocon, while King leapfrogged his way from 10th on the grid to fourth.

The quartet remained in those positions until the final lap, before Ocon fell back to ninth after apparently running out of fuel just a couple of corners from the finish.

That promoted King into third, ahead of Tom Blomqvist and Felix Rosenqvist, while Mitchell Gilbert scored his first points of his season for Fortec with sixth.

Jake Dennis was the best rookie in seventh, ahead of Felix Serralles, Ocon, and Spike Goddard, who scored both his and the NBE engine's first point with 10th.

Antonio Fuoco, meanwhile, failed to score, the Prema driver finishing 11th after a quiet race.

Results - 22 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                          Time/Gap
 1.  Lucas Auer           Mucke Dallara-Merc              35m03.745s
 2.  Ed Jones             Carlin Dallara-VW                  +7.120s
 3.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW                 +11.625s
 4.  Tom Blomqvist        Carlin Dallara-VW                 +17.173s
 5.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc                +19.993s
 6.  Mitchell Gilbert     Fortec Dallara-Merc               +21.056s
 7.  Jake Dennis          Carlin Dallara-VW                 +22.142s
 8.  Felix Serralles      West-Tec Dallara-Merc             +23.266s
 9.  Esteban Ocon         Prema Dallara-Merc                +23.731s
10.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-NBE               +25.410s
11.  Antonio Fuoco        Prema Dallara-Merc                +29.472s
12.  Felipe Guimaraes     Double R Dallara-Merc             +32.500s
13.  Sean Gelael          Carlin Dallara-VW                 +37.689s
14.  Sandro Zeller        Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc            +50.657s
15.  Hector Hurst         West-Tec Dallara-Merc             +51.584s
16.  Alexander Toril      T-Sport Dallara-NBE               +55.957s
17.  Michele Beretta      Eurointernational Dallara-Merc    +58.463s
18.  Tatiana Calderon     Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc          +1m00.008s
19.  Dennis van de Laar   Prema Dallara-Merc                  +1 lap
20.  John Bryant-Meisner  Fortec Dallara-Merc                 +1 lap


     Gustavo Menezes      Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW          18 laps
     Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc                 14 laps
     Riccardo Agostini    Eurointernational Dallara-Merc      6 laps
     Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW           6 laps
     Antonio Giovinazzi   Carlin Dallara-VW                   0 laps
     Max Verstappen       Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW           0 laps
     Nicholas Latifi      Prema Dallara-Merc                  0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Verstappen takes maiden F3 win
Lotus protege Ocon wins race two
Verstappen inherits double F3 pole
Auer on pole for Hockenheim opener
Giovinazzi sets Hockenheim F3 pace