Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim European F3: Lucas Auer on pole for opening race

Lucas Auer, Mucke, Hockenheim European F3 2014

Lucas Auer will start the first Formula 3 European Championship race at Hockenheim from pole position.

The Mucke Motorsport driver had been sitting in second spot right up until the final minute of the session, before a 1m32.387s final lap secured pole position for Saturday's first race.

Auer's lap left practice pacesetter Antonio Giovinazzi second, the Carlin driver having set his best of a 1m32.505s four minutes from the end of the session.

His Carlin stable-mate Ed Jones was third, less than four hundredths behind.

Max Verstappen and Esteban Ocon finished fourth and fifth respectively, just 0.002s separating the rookies at the end of the session, while Tom Blomqvist, who was on pole for the season opener at Silverstone a fortnight ago, completed out the third row of the grid.

Nicholas Latifi was seventh, ahead of pre-season favourite Felix Rosenqvist, the Mucke driver's tough start to the season continuing as he could only manage eighth on the grid at a circuit he usually excels at.

John Bryant-Meisner and Jordan King rounded out the top 10.

The surprise result of the session was Antonio Fuoco. The race three winner from Silverstone could manage just 18th on the grid, having sat outside the top 20 until his very last lap.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                        Time       Gap
 1.  Lucas Auer           Mucke Dallara-Merc              1m32.387s
 2.  Antonio Giovinazzi   Carlin Dallara-VW               1m32.505s  +0.118s
 3.  Ed Jones             Carlin Dallara-VW               1m32.547s  +0.160s
 4.  Max Verstappen       Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       1m32.586s  +0.199s
 5.  Esteban Ocon         Prema Dallara-Merc              1m32.588s  +0.201s
 6.  Tom Blomqvist        Carlin Dallara-VW               1m32.602s  +0.215s
 7.  Nicholas Latifi      Prema Dallara-Merc              1m32.634s  +0.247s
 8.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc              1m32.688s  +0.301s
 9.  John Bryant-Meisner  Fortec Dallara-Merc             1m32.708s  +0.321s
10.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW               1m32.740s  +0.353s
11.  Jake Dennis          Carlin Dallara-VW               1m32.786s  +0.399s
12.  Mitchell Gilbert     Fortec Dallara-Merc             1m32.860s  +0.473s
13.  Felix Serralles      West-Tec Dallara-Merc           1m32.990s  +0.603s
14.  Jules Szymkowiak     Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       1m33.041s  +0.654s
15.  Dennis van de Laar   Prema Dallara-Merc              1m33.042s  +0.655s
16.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-NBE             1m33.183s  +0.796s
17.  Tatiana Calderon     Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc          1m33.183s  +0.796s
18.  Antonio Fuoco        Prema Dallara-Merc              1m33.233s  +0.846s
19.  Riccardo Agostini    Eurointernational Dallara-Merc  1m33.236s  +0.849s
20.  Alexander Toril      T-Sport Dallara-NBE             1m33.252s  +0.865s
21.  Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc              1m33.278s  +0.891s
22.  Gustavo Menezes      Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       1m33.316s  +0.929s
23.  Sean Gelael          Carlin Dallara-VW               1m33.496s  +1.109s
24.  Felipe Guimaraes     Double R Dallara-Merc           1m33.780s  +1.393s
25.  Michele Beretta      Eurointernational Dallara-Merc  1m33.876s  +1.489s
26.  Hector Hurst         West-Tec Dallara-Merc           1m34.022s  +1.635s
27.  Sandro Zeller        Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc          1m34.074s  +1.687s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Verstappen takes maiden F3 win
Lotus protege Ocon wins race two
Verstappen inherits double F3 pole
Auer cruises to victory in race one
Giovinazzi sets Hockenheim F3 pace