Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Pukekohe V8 Supercars: Mark Winterbottom bounces back with victory

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom closed in on V8 Supercars championship leader Craig Lowndes as he made up for Ford Performance Racing's poor Friday by winning race two at Pukekohe.

Winterbottom grabbed the lead from polesitter James Courtney at the first corner and then controlled the race to the flag, including a safety car restart after a caution was required to move Robert Dahlgren's failed Volvo.

Courtney was unable to come back at Winterbottom but had no trouble retaining second for Holden Racing Team.

FPR's cars had only been 13th and 21st in a messy race one, but the team began Saturday with a double podium, as Chaz Mostert capitalised on champion Jamie Whincup running wide out of the final corner to snatch third on lap three.

Whincup then stayed ahead of a battling Shane van Gisbergen and Scott McLaughlin to finish fourth.

It was a disastrous race for points leader Lowndes in the second Triple Eight Holden. He qualified only 15th, lost ground with a mistake at the final turn on the opening lap, and came home 16th.

Friday race winner Jason Bright had incidents with van Gisbergen and Tim Slade, eventually earning a drive-through penalty for a clash with the latter. Bright pitted for fresh tyres under the safety car then recovered from last to 12th.

Results - 35 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap              
 1.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford               39m39.7002s              
 2.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                +1.9508s              
 3.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                  +5.2519s              
 4.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden       +6.7886s              
 5.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden              +8.6931s              
 6.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                 +9.3911s              
 7.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden    +10.3149s              
 8.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford        +12.1511s              
 9.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden               +12.7698s              
10.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden        +14.0305s              
11.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford        +14.9026s              
12.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden        +17.6311s              
13.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                   +22.4518s              
14.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes          +22.6865s              
15.  James Moffat         Nissan                   +22.9612s              
16.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden      +23.9617s              
17.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                   +24.2732s              
18.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes          +24.6772s              
19.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden          +25.0955s              
20.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                   +25.9608s              
21.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden        +55.5601s              
22.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford        +2 laps              
     Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                  24 laps               
     Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden       10 laps         
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Bright wins Pukekohe opener