Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Argentina MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo quickest in first practice session

Jorge Lorenzo, Yamaha, Argentina MotoGP 2014

Jorge Lorenzo was quickest as the MotoGP field explored Argentina's Termas de Rio Hondo track for the first time.

Friday's first session began half an hour late due to organisational delays ahead of the preceding Moto3 practice.

When the riders did leave the pitlane, it was world championship leader Marc Marquez who set the initial pace.

Visibly more bold than anyone else on the very dirty track, the reigning champion was 1.8 seconds quicker than the opposition at first.

As everyone else got up to speed, times shuffled repeatedly, with both Espargaro brothers, Andrea Dovizioso and Stefan Bradl among the others to spend time in first before Lorenzo's Yamaha hit the front in the closing minutes.

Lorenzo's time of 1m42.804s put him on top by half a second over Aleix Espargaro on Forward's Open class Yamaha.

Gresini Honda rider Alvaro Bautista, one of the riders who tried the track during a promotional visit to Argentina last July, was third, ahead of Andrea Iannone and Bradley Smith.

Marquez ended up 14th, with Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa 16th. Valentino Rossi was 10th.

Paul Bird rider Michael Laverty had the session's only incident, with a minor crash at Turn 5.

Pos Rider             Team                   Time       Gap      Laps
 1. Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                 1m42.804s            18
 2. Aleix Espargaro   Forward Yamaha         1m43.285s  +0.481s   13
 3. Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda          1m43.637s  +0.833s   19
 4. Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati          1m43.706s  +0.902s   16
 5. Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m43.806s  +1.002s   18
 6. Pol Espargaro     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m43.961s  +1.157s   19
 7. Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda              1m44.055s  +1.251s   20
 8. Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                 1m44.096s  +1.292s   17
 9. Nicky Hayden      Aspar Honda            1m44.333s  +1.529s   18
10. Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                 1m44.502s  +1.698s   18
11. Scott Redding     Gresini Honda          1m44.763s  +1.959s   18
12. Michele Pirro     Ducati                 1m44.790s  +1.986s   17
13. Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati          1m44.889s  +2.085s   16
14. Marc Marquez      Honda                  1m45.103s  +2.299s   16
15. Hiroshi Aoyama    Aspar Honda            1m45.137s  +2.333s   20
16. Dani Pedrosa      Honda                  1m45.724s  +2.920s   17
17. Colin Edwards     Forward Yamaha         1m45.808s  +3.004s   17
18. Danilo Petrucci   Ioda Aprilia           1m46.008s  +3.204s   16
19. Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia            1m46.167s  +3.363s   14
20. Mike di Meglio    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m46.264s  +3.460s   19
21. Broc Parkes       PBM Aprilia            1m46.896s  +4.092s   16
22. Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m47.027s  +4.223s   17
23. Karel Abraham     Cardion Honda          1m47.037s  +4.233s   16
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez snatches third straight victory
Marquez secures third consecutive pole
Marquez stays on top in third practice
Marquez fastest in second practice