Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Pukekohe V8 Supercars: Jason Bright wins opening race

Jason Bright wins Pukekohe V8 Supercars 2014

Jason Bright took his first V8 Supercars win in 12 months as he triumphed in the opening race of the Pukekohe quadruple-header.

Polesitter Bright was comfortably beaten away by champion Jamie Whincup at the lights, but the Triple Eight Holden struck power steering issues at one-third distance, slewing off the road and then pitting.

Brad Jones Holden driver Bright then kept Shane van Gisbergen's Tekno Holden at bay to end a victory drought that stretched back to the 2013 event at the New Zealand track.

Championship leader Craig Lowndes came third despite shooting down the Turn 5 escape road late on.

James Courtney, Will Davison and Nick Percat completed the top six.

Mark Winterbottom, winner of the previous race at Winton, was seventh until a spin in the closing laps put him down to 13th and meant Ford had no cars in the top dozen. He had crashed in qualifying and started back in 10th.

The race ran to the 40-minute time limit after a long early safety car period, triggered by David Wall crashing at the final corner in a clash with Chaz Mostert. The damage has ruled Wall's Dick Johnson Ford out of the rest of the weekend.

Results - 33 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden      40m48.3124s
 2.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden              +1.6796s
 3.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden       +4.8554s
 4.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                +5.5961s
 5.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes           +6.1556s
 6.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden     +7.1594s
 7.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden        +10.0857s
 8.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                +13.8858s
 9.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden               +17.5205s
10.  James Moffat         Nissan                   +18.0826s
11.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden     +18.5292s
12.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes          +19.0799s
13.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                 +19.5140s
14.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford        +20.5948s
15.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden          +21.2168s
16.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                   +22.2305s
17.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                   +23.3799s
18.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford        +24.1073s
19.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford      +24.4345s
20.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                   +26.1984s
21.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                 +26.6033s
22.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                +37.4217s
23.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden           +1 lap
24.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden        +7 laps


     David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford            1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Resurgent Winterbottom wins race two