Find out more about our subscriptions

Timer Timerzyanov remains with Hansen team in World Rallycross

Reigning European Rallycross champion Timer Timerzyanov will stay on with the Hansen team as it becomes Peugeot's factory World Rallycross squad in 2014.

The 27-year-old Russian claimed the 2013 title while driving a Citroen DS3 and is looking to repeat his success in a Peugeot 208 T16 this year.

"The aim is to try and win events this season, and of course the championship, that is why we are here. I think we have a strong chance," said Timerzyanov.

"The new Peugeot will be a very good car, the team are very experienced and always strong."

Timerzyanov has three European titles to his name, having also won the Super1600 feeder series in 2010 before moving to the Supercar category.

He also expressed his excitement in working alongside his 2013 team-mate Timmy Hansen, who made his rallycross debut last season.

"Having Timmy as a team mate is great, he is a very professional driver and we can work together for the teams championship this year which will be good.

"I am really looking forward to the first round in Portugal, in the past it has been a very good circuit to me, last year I retired with a puncture which was just bad luck."

2014 World Rallycross full-time drivers:
Albatec Racing Jaques Villeneuve Andy Scott Marklund Motorsport Toomas Heikkinen Anton Marklund Monster World RX Team Liam Doran Kristof Skorupski OlsbergsMSE Andreas Bakkerud Reinis Nitiss Team Peugeot-Hansen Timur Timerzyanov Timmy Hansen PSRX Petter Solberg Alexander Hvaal LD Motorsports Derek Tohill Single car entries Jos Jansen Bohdan Ludwiczak
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT