Find out more about our subscriptions

Long Beach USC: Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas resist pressure to win

Ganassi's Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas withstood near-relentless pressure to win the Long Beach United SportsCar round.

Rojas stayed at the head of a four-car lead train through the first stint, as the Action Express and Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DPs and the OAK Morgan-Nissan battled on the Ganassi Riley-Ford's tail.

Action Express managed to get Joao Barbosa into the lead during the sole pitstop sequence, but Pruett snatched first place back on track, with Jordan Taylor slipping through into second at the same time.

After a spell in which Taylor and Barbosa were too busy with each other, Pruett was reeled in again and took the chequered flag just 0.7 seconds clear of the Taylor brothers' car.

Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi completed a close top three for Action Express, while OAK's Olivier Pla and Gustavo Yacaman were the top LMP2 crew in fourth.

The front-row starting Michael Shank Racing Riley-Ford was squeezed into the tyres at the first corner, then ended up in the wall again later on when Michael Valiante spun in John Pew's path.

Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen dominated GTLM - the only other class present as Long Beach is among the rounds not attended by all four divisions - for Corvette.

Garcia established a comfortable advantage during his stint, with Magnussen praising his team-mate for giving him a relative easy run to the flag.

Corvette only just missed out on a one-two, as RLL BMW's Dirk Muller held off Tommy Milner for second.

The Bill Auberlen/Andy Priaulx BMW had been on course for a class podium before the need to change a door slowed its pitstop, leaving it sixth at the finish behind the CORE Autosport Porsches.

Leading results - 77 laps:

Pos  Cl    Drivers             Team/Car                         Time/Gap
 1.  P     Pruett/Rojas        Ganassi Riley-Ford           1h40m46.184s
 2.  P     Taylor/Taylor       Taylor Corvette DP                +0.759s
 3.  P     Barbosa/Fittipaldi  Action Express Corvette DP        +4.251s
 4.  P     Pla/Yacaman         OAK Morgan-Nissan                +29.247s
 5.  P     Westbrook/Valiante  Spirit Corvette DP             +1m19.445s
 6.  P     Sharp/Dalziel       Extreme Speed HPD                  +1 lap
 7.  P     Brown/van Overbeek  Extreme Speed HPD                  +1 lap
 8.  GTLM  Magnussen/Garcia    Corvette                          +2 laps
 9.  GTLM  Muller/Edwards      RLL BMW                           +2 laps
10.  GTLM  Gavin/Milner        Corvette                          +2 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT