Find out more about our subscriptions

Long Beach IndyCar: James Hinchcliffe tops first practice session

James Hinchcliffe, Andretti, Long Beach IndyCar 2014

James Hinchcliffe opened this weekend's IndyCar event at Long Beach by setting the fastest time in the first practice session.

Hinchcliffe went to the top with a 1m09.8110s lap with nine minutes of the 45-minute session remaining, and his time remained unbeaten.

Helio Castroneves, who set his best time just moments after the Canadian driver, came closest, although his effort was still 0.1795s shy.

Prior to Hinchcliffe entering the picture, the pacesetter during the middle phase of the session was Josef Newgarden.

The spicy rivalry that IndyCar needs

His participation was cut short when he understeered into the Turn 8 barriers, prompting a 10-minute stoppage, but his lap time was still good enough to remain fifth-fastest behind Justin Wilson and Ryan Hunter-Reay at the chequered flag.

Jack Hawksworth continued his encouraging start to his IndyCar career by posting the seventh-best time to put himself just behind Will Power, while Juan Pablo Montoya was comfortably inside the top 10 for much of the session before being shuffled back to 15th towards the end.

Oriol Servia, making his first appearance of the season in the second Rahal Letterman Lanigan entry, finished up in 16th place.

Pos Driver              Team/Engine       Time        Gap      Laps
 1. James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda    1m09.8110s             17    
 2. Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy      1m09.9905s  +0.1795s   14    
 3. Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda       1m10.0080s  +0.1970s   12    
 4. Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda    1m10.0340s  +0.2230s    9    
 5. Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda      1m10.0648s  +0.2538s    8    
 6. Will Power          Penske/Chevy      1m10.1677s  +0.3567s   15    
 7. Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda       1m10.1970s  +0.3860s   21    
 8. Mike Conway         Carpenter/Chevy   1m10.2077s  +0.3967s   18    
 9. Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda     1m10.2235s  +0.4125s   11    
10. Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy     1m10.2343s  +0.4233s   10    
11. Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda    1m10.2514s  +0.4404s   15    
12. Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda        1m10.2518s  +0.4408s   16    
13. Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy          1m10.3638s  +0.5528s   13    
14. Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy      1m10.4651s  +0.6541s   16    
15. Oriol Servia        Rahal/Honda       1m10.5054s  +0.6944s   16    
16. Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy     1m10.5225s  +0.7115s   10    
17. Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy          1m10.8040s  +0.9930s   15    
18. Graham rahal        Rahal/Honda       1m10.8436s  +1.0326s   17    
19. Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda    1m10.9255s  +1.1145s   16    
20. Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy     1m10.9501s  +1.1391s    7    
21. Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy     1m11.0411s  +1.2301s   16    
22. Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda     1m11.1709s  +1.3599s   15    
23. Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda       1m11.3577s  +1.5467s   19
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT