Find out more about our subscriptions

Brands Hatch BTCC: Jason Plato stays on top

Plato stays on top at Brands

Jason Plato topped the second British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Brands Hatch as two of the seven series champions failed to get into the top 10.

Plato's Triple Eight-run MG6 recorded two laps good enough to top the session early on, though the order behind him changed regularly.

Plato's team-mate Sam Tordoff moved into second as the qualifying simulation runs began in the closing stages, but there was then a brief stoppage when Warren Scott spun his BMR Vauxhall Insignia into the Paddock Hill Bend gravel trap.

After the restart, reigning champion Andrew Jordan went second fastest in his Eurotech Honda Civic, only to be pipped by the BMR Insignia of Jack Goff in the final moments.

Jordan and Tordoff thus completed the top four, just ahead of the BMR VW Passat of Aron Smith.

BTCC 2014: The big themes to watch

Impressive BTCC rookie Tom Ingram was sixth fastest in his Speedworks Toyota Avensis, while Colin Turkington, Gordon Shedden and Matt Neal made it five champions in the top nine.

Fabrizio Giovanardi continued to struggle for pace, catching a big slide at Paddock Hill Bend and ending up 13th.

Fellow former champion Alain Menu failed to complete many laps in his BMR Passat and was 18th fastest.

Ollie Jackson's Welch-run Proton made it onto the track for the first time, but did not record a flying lap.

Pos Driver               Car                  Time     Gap     Laps
 1. Jason Plato          MG                   48.719s           26 
 2. Jack Goff            BMR Vauxhall         48.731s  +0.012s  30
 3. Andrew Jordan        Eurotech Honda       48.760s  +0.041s  31
 4. Sam Tordoff          MG                   48.762s  +0.043s  26
 5. Aron Smith           BMR VW               48.777s  +0.058s  32
 6. Tom Ingram           Speedworks Toyota    48.783s  +0.064s  28
 7. Colin Turkington     WSR BMW              48.800s  +0.081s  27
 8. Gordon Shedden       Honda                48.856s  +0.137s  24
09. Matt Neal            Honda                48.890s  +0.171s  28
10. Martin Depper        Eurotech Honda       48.954s  +0.235s  31
11. Adam Morgan          Ciceley Mercedes     48.968s  +0.249s  25
12. Rob Austin           RAR Audi             48.984s  +0.265s  31
13. Fabrizio Giovanardi  Motorbase Ford       49.013s  +0.294s  28
14. Mat Jackson          Motorbase Ford       49.076s  +0.357s  28
15. Rob Collard          WSR BMW              49.115s  +0.396s  27
16. Nick Foster          WSR BMW              49.184s  +0.465s  31
17. James Cole           UA Toyota            49.261s  +0.542s  25
18. Alain Menu           BMR VW               49.277s  +0.558s  7
19. Jack Clarke          Motorbase Ford       49.341s  +0.622s  32
20. Hunter Abbott        RAR Audi             49.493s  +0.774s  28
21. Warren Scott         BMR Vauxhall         49.528s  +0.809s  25
22. Dave Newsham         AmD Ford             49.531s  +0.812s  30
23. Glynn Geddie         UA Toyota            49.552s  +0.833s  8
24. Marc Hynes           MG                   49.563s  +0.844s  15
25. Simon Belcher        Speedworks Toyota    49.758s  +1.039s  23
26. Aiden Moffat         Moffat Chevrolet     50.006s  +1.287s  27
27. Robb Holland         Rotek Audi           50.054s  +1.335s  29
28. Lea Wood             Houseman Toyota      50.335s  +1.616s  28
29. Chris Stockton       BTC Chevrolet        50.799s  +2.080s  18
30. Olile Jackson        Welch Proton         53.378s  +4.659s  12
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Turkington takes victory in finale
Hynes thrown out of BTCC race two
Jordan wins again in race two
Jordan resists Plato in opening race
Menu believes pole was possible
Jordan grabs first pole of 2014
Plato fastest as BTCC begins